Book Reviews

Ten Days Book Review:

Ten days.

Gillian Slovo.

4 stars out of 5.

The book blurb:

It’s 4 a.m. and Cathy Mason is watching dawn break over the Lovelace estate. By the end of the day, her community will be a crime scene. By the end of the week, her city will be on fire.

In this gripping thriller, a death at police hands has repercussions far beyond one family plunged into grief . . . As violence erupts in the middle of a stifling heatwave, the dead man becomes a useful tactic (or an urgent threat) in political games at the highest level. So while lives are at risk in Cathy Mason’s estate, across London in Westminster, careers are being made, or ruined.

From a Home Secretary’s attempts to unseat a Prime Minister, to a new Met Police Commissioner fighting for his job, to families torn apart: in Ten Days, Orange Prize-shortlisted author Gillian Slovo shows what happens when politics, policing and the hard realities of living in London explosively collide.

I received a free copy of this book courtesy of Goodreads Giveaways. Now, this isn’t the type of book that I usually read, I’ve normally got my head stuck in a fantasy novel but I’m trying to broaden my reading horizons and try different genres.

Over the ‘Ten Days’ of the title, politics, police, people, race, class, poverty, power, ambition and greed all collide after an accidental death at police hands during a heatwave causes riots on a fictional rundown London Estate.

The story is gripping, the cast of characters are all well thought out and interesting and the book is really well written.

One of my favourite passages in the book takes place late in the story ‘slight spoiler’ and is:

‘She told me how they locked you away for what they think you are. Just like those others destroyed my shop for what they think I am.’

And to me, it seemed so true and really made me think about the society we live in today.

I really like the cover of the book, it’s very simplistic with the plain black background, white writing of the title and both the clock face and author’s name in yellow but it really stands out and looks smart.

You can tell the author has done alot of research and while not my usual genre of book, I couldn’t help but get pulled into this gritty, realistic and authentic feeling political thriller and as a result I  have to say that the author has written a compelling, gripping book.

Leave a Reply

