Book Reviews

Slenderman, Slenderman, Take this Child Book Review

Slenderman, Slenderman, Take this Child.

Lee McGeorge.

5 stars out of 5.

The book blurb:

Jemima Collins has lost a parent in a car accident.
She is twelve years old. She is frightened.
She is alone… and the monster is watching.

I was lucky enough to win a copy of this book in a Goodreads Giveaway.

I have to admit that until I read some reviews before I started reading the book I wasn’t aware of how the Slenderman character was created on the internet and the myth surrounding it, however I found that my lack of prior knowledge didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book at all.

Some readers may find the sexual element of the book unsettling but I felt the author handled it well and as tactful as someone can with a taboo subject while writing a horror novel. Without giving away any spoilers, it’s part of the story being told and it adds to that story, I feel that  it’s not been added by the author merely for shock value and to me the author has shown restraint in how far he went while writing about the subject. Likewise, this book isn’t gruesome but there’s a few scenes of graphic violence that may also upset some readers.

I’m an avid reader, mainly the fantasy genre and alot of the books I read are hefty tomes in the region of between 500-800 pages in length, I’m quite a quick reader depending on various life circumstances but on the other hand it also takes me a while to finish a book if I’m not enjoying it. This book comes in at 355 pages and I devoured it in under 3 days, I started it on the Friday evening and finished it Sunday afternoon! That shows how much I enjoyed (if enjoyed is the right word for a horror novel) it. 🙂

While technically a ‘horror’ novel, for me merely classifying Slenderman, Slenderman, Take this Child as horror is doing the book itself an injustice as I found it to be far more than that. It’s a well written read that is part horror but also incorporates part supernatural, part crime and part origin elements to the Slenderman myth into the story being told.

The beginning pulled me in and from the first page I found myself hooked right up until the climactic conclusion, finding it to be an engrossing, captivating, sometimes disturbing, often times dark read.

Highly recommended!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

