Book Reviews

The Revenant Book Review

The Revenant.

Michael Punke.

5 stars for most of the book.
2 stars for the ending.
Overall 3 stars.

The book blurb:

Hugh Glass isn’t  afraid to die. He’s done it once already. 

Rocky Mountains, 1823

The trappers of the Rocky Mountain Fur Company live a brutal frontier life. Hugh Glass is one of the most respected men in the company, an experienced frontiersman and an expert tracker.
But when a scouting mission puts Glass face-to-face with a grizzly bear, he is viciously mauled and not expected to survive. Two men from the company are ordered to remain with him until his inevitable death. But, fearing an imminent attack, they abandon Glass, stripping him of his prized rifle and hatchet.

As Glass watches the men flee, he is driven to survive by one all-consuming desire: revenge. With shocking grit and determination, he sets out on a three-thousand-mile journey across the harsh American frontier, to seek revenge on the men who betrayed him.

The Revenant is a remarkable tale of obsession and the lengths that one man will go to for retribution.

For most of the book I found it to be a really engaging read with a interesting well rounded main protagonist in Hugh Glass, who really pulled you into his story and quest for revenge.

The supporting cast of characters and places are also all well portrayed and the book itself is well written. You can really feel what it was like to be alone in the wilderness, desolate and trying to stay alive along with the hardship and violence of the era.

I’m finding the book hard to review as while reading I was captivated throughout and expected at the end to be praising the book highly but alas that’s not the case. Some readers may like the ending but it wasn’t what I was expecting and it wasn’t for me as I found it really tarnished my enjoyment of the book. Without giving away any spoilers I’ll simply write, there was no real conclusion and that the book just sort of ended leaving me feeling disappointed with a sense of ‘meh’ is that it? I think I personally wouldn’t be so bothered about the lack of any real payoff if the end hadn’t been quite so abrupt and in my opinion a short epilogue set a few weeks or months after the end of the story would have added so much more to the book.

Overall it’s a good book and I’d still recommend it, as it’s got alot of good things going for it and on a whole it is a decent read. My only complaint is and it’s quite a big one, the lack of a satisfying conclusion, so be warned if you do read this book the end may leave you feeling rather disappointed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Revenant Book Review

  1. I’ve been eyeing this book for weeks now ever since I found out it was a book. I’m glad I found your review since I don’t know anyone who has read it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

