Friday Face-Off · Various Things

Friday Face-Off-8th April.

The Friday Face-Off is a new meme created by Books by Proxy, where the idea is to compare the UK and US covers of a book with each week ย being a certain theme, this week’s theme is war.

For the theme I have chosen Miles Cameron’s novel The Red Knight (Traitor Son Cycle book 1).

The UK cover:

The US cover:

The Red Knight is one of my favourite books and the three books of The Traitor Son Cycle so far (The Red Knight, The Fell Sword and The Dread Wyrm) are all exceptional reads that are well worth your time, but I digress-(thats a posh word for me for anyone who frequents my blog!).

Back on topic, the covers themselves are very very different!!!!

The UK cover has a classic look and feel to it with The Red Knight battling a Dragon/Wyvern against a light coloured background of light grey with a slightly darker grey Celtic style symbol and a classic style font. Whereas the US cover has a darker style cover with a Sword being held by two hands against a dark background with flames on the bottom half and to me a more modern font.

The Winner:

No contest for me on this score, I love the UK cover! The classic look makes it different to other books out there whereas the US cover just looks like any other standard fantasy cover with a moody protagonist holding a Sword, also as I’ve read the book I can say that the UK cover/covers actually fit the book and series far better.

17 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off-8th April.

  1. Samer here; I like the UK. I had never seen the UK covers before, and after I picked up the first two books (it was a B&N, buy 2 get 1 free, from a couple years ago), I saw the UK and was like, why the heck didn’t I get those?! Why weren’t they online for me to buy?! Then I realized they UK. I was even more jealous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

