Tags · Various Things

Life In Books Tag

I was tagged by Nick V.Reys @ The Paper dragon to do the Life In Books Tag, many thanks, now this is only my second tag so:

Well then, here goes:

Find a book for each of your initials:

OK, my real initials are D-D-J-W, thanks to my parents for giving me 2 middle names!

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

For D I’m going to go with December Park by Ronald Malfi, this is an awesome book that I can’t rate highly enough and recommend to anyone out there, you don’t need a synopsis you just need to trust in me that it is amazing! šŸ™‚

For the second D I’m going with Dracula by Bram Stoker, it’s a literary classic.

For JĀ I’ve picked Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, I admit I haven’t yet read the book but it’s awaiting me on my Kindle on my rather long TBR list and I loved the BBC show from last year.

For WĀ I’ve chosen When The Heavens Fall (The Chronicles of The Exile Book 1) by Marc Turner, this is a quality grimdark read with both a slight old school and Malazan feel to it.

Count your age along your bookshelf, which book is it?

I’m taking the easy option here and using my Kindle (sorry) I don’t have that many books and have far more on my Kindle, sorry real book lovers but I am getting back into proper books so my collection is growing. šŸ™‚

Anyhow, the book ended up being:

Product Details

The Trickster by Muriel Gray, I haven’t yet read it so can’t comment on the book as it’s another on my long TBR list.

Pick a book that represents a destination you would love to travel to:

Oh my, now this is hard!!!! Do I choose The Broken Empire, The Six Duchies, Malazan, The Banished Lands or something completely different?!?!?!……….well I’m picking:

Product Details

Malice by John Gwynne, book 1 in The Faithful and The Fallen Series, where the Banished Lands are, merely because on my trip there I’d hopefully be able to proquire myself a Wolven like Storm in the books!

Pick a book that’s your favourite colour:

Product Details

I’ve chosen Snakewood by Adrian Selby as it’s Red and Black, my favourite colours together!

Which book do you have fondest memories of?

Product Details

I’ve gone for A Game Of Thrones by GRRM, after a very long hiatus from reading, this is the book that got me into reading big time, yes, it was down to the TV show, I’d seen the adverts and the Sky magazine with all the buzz about a new fantasy show and decided to pick the book up before the show started back in 2010 and I’ve never looked back, countless books later I’m a fantasy book addict and it’s all down to this book.

So it’s strange that I perhaps haven’t picked a book from my childhood and have picked one I only read 6 years ago but it got me to be the booklover I am today and for me that’s a fond memory! šŸ™‚

Which book did you have the most difficulty reading:

Product Details

I’ve picked HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt for this, another strange choice I hear you say and yes it is, now, it was nothing to do with the book itself, I have even wrote a review praising the book it’s to do with personal circumstances whilst I was reading said book that conspired against me to struggle to finish it.

I’ll elaborate without giving away spoilers for the book, my dog had to be put to sleep a few weeks before I started reading this book, she was a Border Collie:

There she is, her name was Sully, now the main family in HEX also have a black and white Border Collie and I just struggled to read it, yeah, my manliness is taking a pounding admitting that I know!

And also my Grandmother died before I finished HEX, pretty crap couple of months really but her name was Rita and lo and behold a character in HEX was called Rita to! So, while it was nothing to do with the book, it stands out as the book I have had the most difficulty reading.

Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

I’m not going to pick a single book for this but a series and that series is:

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

The Dagger and Coin series by Daniel Abraham. My friend rates it very highly but with so many books to read I’ve never gotten around to it, so I’m going to wait until the fifth and final book is released and then devour the series.

Well, there’s a little more about me, I won’t nominate any single blogger for this but anyone who reads this and wants to have ago. šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Life In Books Tag

  1. I’m currently reading HEX, and I can definitely see why those experiences would give you a hard time reading it. A lot of times, my reading would be affected by what’s going on in real life too, through no fault of the book’s own. Anyway, I’m still in the beginning sections, but things are already getting kind of unsettling.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never heard of this tag before! Definitely going to have to do it this week! I’m right with you in the difficult reads department. When a lot of stuff is happening in your life while you’re reading a book, years doesn’t make it any easier when you want to attempt to read it again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

