Various Things · Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: Sharp Ends by Joe Abercrombie.

Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  Each Wednesday you get to highlight a book that your really looking forward to. This is week I’ve chosen Sharp Ends by Joe Abercrombie.

The Union army may be full of bastards, but there’s only one who thinks he can save the day single-handed when the Gurkish come calling: the incomparable Colonel Sand dan Glokta.
Curnden Craw and his dozen are out to recover a mysterious item from beyond the Crinna. Only one small problem: no one seems to know what the item is.

Shevedieh, the self-styled best thief in Styria, lurches from disaster to catastrophe alongside her best friend and greatest enemy, Javre, Lioness of Hoskopp.

And after years of bloodshed, the idealistic chieftain Bethod is desperate to bring peace to the North. There’s only one obstacle left – his own lunatic champion, the most feared man in the North: the Bloody-Nine . . .

Sharp Ends combines previously published, award-winning tales with exclusive new short stories. Violence explodes, treachery abounds, and the words are as deadly as the weapons in this rogue’s gallery of side-shows, back-stories, and sharp endings from the world of the First Law.

The expected publication date is: April 26th 2016.

I know, I know, it’s nearly here, less than a week to go but I’m still eagerly anticipating the book. I have enquired about an ARC from the publisher so fingers crossed I may receive one in the next few days, worst case is I don’t get a copy, best case is I do but if not I shall be ordering myself a copy over the weekend and postman depending should get the precious around the release day.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Sharp Ends by Joe Abercrombie.

    1. I’d probably say no, it wouldn’t be a good starting place but until I’ve read the book I can’t really say though I’d think you’d be better and definitely recommend starting with his first, First Law trilogy book (The blade itself), it’s a great series with some amazing characters.

      Like

    2. I would have to agree with my tattooed friend on this. The characters who are detailed in Sharp Ends have already been well established in other novels. The First Law Trilogy has got to be your starting point and following that you would need to read the other works that JA has published. I have been fortunate enough to read Sharp Ends and whilst you would not be completely lost when reading it, you wouldn’t really have the context for the various stories. I hope this helps.
      Also, if you want to read a review, I have published one on my blog, it’s dancrossbookblog.wordpress,com (not meaning to promote on your pages Drew, sorry mate)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

