Tags · Various Things

The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag.

I was tagged by The Awkward Book Blogger. Thank you kindly and apologies it’s taken a few days for me to do the tag, I’ve been rather busy and I also had a review I needed to write, Sharp Ends by Joe Abercrombie, it’s now posted, please all feel free to check it out after you’ve read this! πŸ™‚

But I’ve now got some spare time while I decide what to read next, so I’m going to answer the secret questions about being a bookΒ blogger.

How long have you been a blogger?

Approximately Β 8 weeks, I’m still a blogging baby!

 

At what point do you think you will stop?

I’ll stop when I lose enjoyment in blogging and when it starts to feel like a chore instead of fun.

What is the best part?

Being able to write about and review the books I read and talk about books/reading as not many people I know read so it’s nice to be part of a community that enjoys reading.

 

What is the worst thing?

Before I publish a new review/blog post, thinking, is my review/blog post good enough?!?

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

Not long, I search for pictures/gifs on a specific subject and then choose which I personally like the best.

Who’s your book crush?

Alas, I am far to old to have a crush on a book character! πŸ˜‰

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Only one! Well that’s diabolical and I refuse to obey the rules, instead you can have a list:

-John Gwynne.
-Glen Cook.
-Joe Abercrombie.
-Mark Lawrence.
-Peter V. Brett.
-Miles Cameron.
-Justin Cronin.
-Stephen King.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

Hhhmm! Seriously!

This may well shock you all but I wear clothes when I write my blog! I know a world breaking shocker of a revelation right!

Nah, I’m a casual guy so it’d be jeans, a t-shirt (usually a band or WWE one) and trainers, sorry ladies I’m not a dapper, sophisticated suit wearing gent!

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

Depends, a while I guess especially for the reviews I write as I like to be thorough with them. I may write bits and pieces of a review while I’m reading but it’s not until I’ve finished the actual book that I will take time and write the whole review. Then I have to check that it both reads and flows well, that it contains everything I want and is well formatted and then before posting I’ll recheck it as I like to think that I write the best review/blog post I possibly can. πŸ™‚

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

The culture is great, as it brings book lovers from across the world together!

I think the community is also really cool and very friendly, I’ve had some really nice comments about reviews and posts I’ve blogged and it’s awesome getting likes and comments and knowing people are reading and enjoying my blog.

 

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

As it’s your own blog, what maybe successful for you won’t be for others and vice versa, merely focus on what you want to achieve and not worry about others.

Make the blog personal to you and just be genuine-simple advice but with only being new to blogging I really don’t think I can answer the question as I’m not even sure my own blog is successful! Though if I had to answer Yes or No, I’d say Yes it is a success as it’s turned out far better than I ever thought it would though I’m sure some of you will disagree and that’s fine. πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag.

  1. Baby bloggers are my favorite kind of bloggers! I recently reached the 3 month mark and I still feel like I’m walking in the dark.

    I had no idea you were so new. You could have fooled me. You’re doing great.

    This was a hilarious post. Thanks for making me laugh. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, great answers – I also wear clothes when I blog. I feel exactly the same way about the book-blogging community – everyone was so welcoming from the very beginning. Looking forward to reading more of your posts πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So I’m becoming that annoying person who comments on old ass posts you forgot you wrote but whatever it’s part of my interview research. And I can’t sleep. 😴 The what do you wear while blogging question always baffles me. I was asked this in a Twitter chat when I first started blogging and thought this was such a dumb question. Just to be a jerk I should’ve said I don’t wear any. Haha! Or said something dumb like I normally blog in my underwear but ya know sometimes I throw a shirt on in case I accidentally turn on the web cam. Oops! πŸ™Š So you started blogging like a week or two before me. And here I was thinking you’d been doing this for a long time. You should do more tags. Your answers make me laugh. Honestly, without even reading this post, I could’ve guessed jeans and a rock band t-shirt. Your personality comes through in your writing. I like t-shirts that have graphics and snarky comments on them. I once wore a shirt to work that said I only come here because they pay me. I also have an equally jerky coffee mug I leave on my desk to fend off unwanted intruders. I’m such an ass. But I’m fun to work with if you have a sense of humor. 😝 Like me, my shirts are loud and sarcastic! Totally agree with doing your own blog thing. Some people’s blogs just blend together with others doing the same kind of posts. I started posting only original content and reviews after my first month. I can’t stand all those TTT and T5W posts. Some people that’s all they do and it’s boring. Oddly enough my rants and snarky posts are what people like. I didn’t think anyone would ever read them, but I underestimated how much people like to read negative posts. This was fun to read. I’m sure I’ll leave more random comments as I dig through your posts. πŸ€—

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha, if you wrote you blogged without clothes your followers would probably skyrocket with creepy old men! πŸ˜‚ It really is a dumbass question though, sorry to whoever thought of it but it is. 😊

      Nah, I was and still am fairly new to this, can’t be bothered with all the top 5/top 10 stuff, etc, I like teaser Tuesday and Friday Face-Off that I do and waiting on Wednesday is OK to but it wouldn’t bother me much if I didn’t have a book I was looking forward to that week, etc though they add extra to the blog, as does the poetry.

      I have to wear a uniform for work. πŸ˜₯ but on non uniform days when they rarely come around we have strict instruction that we can’t wear logos or branded clothing, really pissed actually as I’d love to wear my DX Suck It or anytime, anyplace t-shirt for a shift it’d be freaking awesome! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha! For all you know I don’t wear clothes while I blog. 😝 Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I work from home now and people ask me all the time what I wear while I’m working. They happen to be of the creepy old men kind. The same ones who comment on all of my clothes and my hair and tell me I look pretty every morning Ugh! So glad I work at home now. Yeah, I’m not a big fan of the memes just the Hype or Like Friday one I created but I’m a shitty host cause I haven’t been doing those either. I like the ones you do because I don’t see them on other blogs. Uniforms-boo! No fun. That makes sense. Most places are not cool with logo shirts. I just like pissing my bosses off. It’s part of the mental game we play we each other. They need me and I don’t need them so it works well for me. Is DX something from the UK or does it mean what I think? Anytime, anyplace. lol. You make me laugh.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Honestly my mind went somewhere bad. I’m not gonna lie. πŸ™ˆ I’m such a perv. But now that you say wrestling I know what you’re talking about. I watch a lot more boxing and MMA than wrestling. Too bad you can’t watch UFC. There’s an awesome fight that’s on next weekend. Anything with people beating the shit out of each other excites me. Damn, I guess I really am a Bolton. πŸ™Š

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

