Friday Face-Off · Various Things

Friday Face-Off-13th May 2016.

The Friday Face-Off is a new meme created by Books by Proxy, where the idea is to compare the UK and US covers of a book with each week  being a certain theme, this week’s theme is a book cover that features Witches.

For the theme this week I have chosen: Time of Contempt (The Witcher book 2) by Andrzej Sapkowski and translated by David French.

UK Cover:

US Cover:

winners

The Winner:

I know the theme for this week’s Friday Face-Off was Witches and the UK cover features Yennefer of Vengerberg who is classed as a Sorceress but it’s a similar thing to a Witch and hey, you can’t spell Witcher without Witch! 🙂

However, in true manly fashion I’m going to abstain this week from picking a winner as I really can’t decide which of the two covers I prefer, both are completely different but eye catching in there own ways and part of me likes them both.

Product DetailsProduct Details

Any thoughts???? Which do you prefer????

18 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off-13th May 2016.

  1. So, I don’t like how the authors name is HUGE and the book name is so tiny on the UK version. I do like the U.S. art, looks like The Witcher meets Dune, but I don’t like the title card on the bottom, seems kind of messy. I’m going to give this to the U.S. cover.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Have to agree, it does seem strange how small the books title is and how huge the authors name is on the UK version. Have to agree to about the title card on the US cover, when I was choosing the book for the meme though I noticed that all the books in the Witcher series in the US have the same title card on the bottom.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll probably get the wrath of all Witcher book fans out there but there’s far better fantasy books out there and…….I preferred the Witcher Games to the books, especially Witcher 3, it’s just amazing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve only read one Witcher book and it wasn’t really my thing. To be fair though it was more of tales of the Witcher book rather than one of the mainline books, so I agree with you, the video games are better. *shh, I won’t tell anyone if you don’t.* 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going for the UK one – it just has a sinister feel and I can’t deny it would entice me to pick up the book! Thinking about picking up the book perhaps that’s why the title is so small! The US version is good, I like it, but not the red banner along the bottom. It just spoils the feel of the cover for me somehow!
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE these books! Witcher is also Hexer so I’ve always kind of thought of Geralt as a male witch…one that carries a big sword and kicks so much ass, but a witch regardless. He does use spells and all sorts of potions, after all. I’ve been listening to the audiobooks and currently on the latest, The Tower of Swallows. They use the US covers so I guess I’m just drawn to the US editions due to familiarity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

