Poems/Lyrics

Overcome.

Overcome:

You beat me down,

Try to bury me in the ground,

You make me feel worthless,

Like my life is hopeless,

Leave me thinking,

I’m less than nothing,

Making me question,

Aren’t we all something?

And while your words lacerate,

Please never underestimate,

Though I’ve felt like this before,

I won’t feel this way anymore, 

I am who I am,

Just a simple man, 

Know,

I will rise above,

Know,

I will overcome.


The poem is inspired by The Daily Post’s one word prompt: Underestimate

One thought on “Overcome.

Leave a Reply

