Friday Face-Off · Various Things

Friday Face-Off-3rd June 2016.

PicShop-81E06BFD79981634E40E7ABFCAC8D509_resized_1

The Friday Face-Off is a new meme created by Books by Proxy, where the idea is to compare the UK and US covers of a book with each week  being a certain theme, this week’s theme is a cover which features an explosion on the cover.

Now, for the past two weeks I have been lucky or unlucky enough I shall let you decide which to choose the same covers as 2 of my fellow bloggers. For Friday the 20th May the Face-Off involved a cover which featured a bird, I chose Fool’s Quest by Robin Hobb the same cover as SJ.Higbee. Then for last week’s Face-Off the 27th of May I chose Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell which just so happened to be the same choice as Lynn from Lynns-books. Now you could say that show’s that we all have exquisite taste in books! 🙂

For the theme this week, I have trawled Goodreads, searching for clues to lost treasures, hidden relics, traversed various hostile environments, had to use physical exercise….shudders, climbing waterfalls and countless ruins, shot loads of bad guys, put up with Sam’s lack of shooting skills and inane comments, found solutions to various puzzles (all by myself like a big boy, no Internet cheat guide for me) and finally…..yes finally found Libertalia….sorry forgot for a moment I’m not playing or writing about Uncharted 4!


Hidden deep within the ancient buried tombs of Goodreads I found this dusty old book however upon perusing it, I have come to the conclusion that it must have been magically contained as I was transported to a fantasy world thrown straight into a rampaging horde of chavs-sorry demons and countless denizens and demons decided to try and kill me! I know, the horror! Anyhow, I decided I wasn’t going to stand for that, did my best The Rock impression and told them to ‘Just Bring It’ which they did, but it wasn’t good enough, luckily I had found a sword-not sure how but it happens occasionally in fantasy books, things just magically appear when the hero needs them and I vanquished them all, the battle was bloody and gruesome and would have made an epic battle scene for any Grimdark book, the demons all fell before my prowess with a sword, think Logen Ninefingers with Jorg Ancrath’s psychotic tendencies. After the battle I was rather tired, killing demons is a tiring job, covered in gore and stinking I decided to have a rest-I’m not getting any younger and my bones were aching!

However my rest was disturbed by some nubile young maidens and some wizened old men-hhhmmm I know, I wonder what they’d been doing, raised eye brows at that! 😉

They asked me if I could save the world for them as the vile evil Emperor wanted to destroy everything and cleanse the populace bringing in a new era shaped with his own corrupted spawn. Like every good anti-hero I was going to decline, you know, who wants to be good when they can be bad and I was going to say no to their gracious offer and let the world burn just as long as I got my book, OK, I admit, they didn’t offer to pay me so I thought why should I help them, for the good of it I hear you cry and I say bah to that!

But in the end with their constant badgering, whingeing, moaning  and prophercising I relented, don’t forget-nubile young maidens to…..so….I set out to defeat the Emperor, turns out he was an annoying little twerp like Joffrey from Game of Thrones-lots of fantasy has a GoT influence. He challenged me to a duel, I was reluctant to accept-child abuse you know but he was just so annoying that in the end I agreed, he cheated and I first had to best his champion, sword thrust, done, next champion and so on, until only the Emperor was left, as a gentleman I offered him the first strike, as a cunning sod, I moved before he could strike me and drove my sword right through his chest, dropping to his knees, he asked why? I said why not and subsequently chopped of his head, for good measure picking it up and as I’m a sarcastic sod making it talk, having a laugh mimicking him before kicking it into the baying crowd.

Emperor gone, what was left for the hero to do, you ask, well there was no one to take over the throne, so, rule of the kill, what you kill you keep. I had to decide, stay in the fantasy world and rule or go back to reality and a mundane job.
I decided to return to reality, responsibilities and all that, but I did procure the book and a couple of nubile young maidens along with jewels, gold and money before leaving.

I was transported back-not sure how, things happen with no explanation in fantasy.

So, here I am, writing this blog post, recounting my adventure to find a Friday Face-Off book and after consideration, it’s not a great book I chose but the story behind it deserves a smile at least.

Right, now I’m off to find out where those damn nubile maidens are, last I saw of them, they had found TV and music, if they like Justin Bieber then I’m going back to the fantasy world to rule! 🙂


Here’s the book for this week’s Friday Face- Off as it features an exploding ship: Gunpowder: Alchemy, Bombards, And Pyrotechnics: The History Of The Explosive That Changed The World by Jack Kelly.

UK Cover:

gunpowderuk

US Cover:

gunpowderus

winners

The Winner: US:

gunpowderus

Whilst this really isn’t a book I would have normally chosen, I chose it in the hope no-one else would so apologies for the lacklustre choice and cover, I was just trying to be different! 🙂 It has to be the US cover this week, the red background just stands out so much more in it than in the UK cover with the washed out yellow background, the red with the dragon is quite fetching and draws the eye far more than the yellow, also whilst the ships are exactly rhe same design on each cover the colouring on the US ship just looks way  better than the more muted tones of the UK .

14 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off-3rd June 2016.

  1. Well done, Drew! You weren’t the only one clambering through the foothills of Goodreads, looking for explosive fun… I found this week’s challenge – challenging! But I think you rose to it magnificently:) I love BOTH your covers and agree with everyone else – the US cover really nails it. LOVE the clouds of vivid red exploding all behind the title font, btw…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. oh sad to hear that , your story here almost sounded like a parody of the fantasy genre and that’s what Terri does so I thought maybe you like Terri

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was a fantasy parody, but I’m also sarcastic so think the story came across as that to but I’d picked the same books as a couple of other bloggers the 2 previous weeks so found a really obscure book and just thought I’d write the story explaining why in a parody fashion. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

