Tags · Various Things

Around the World in YA Book Tag.

earth-1170492_1280

Thankyou kindly to TheBookishUnderdog for tagging me to do this.

There are no specific questions for this tag , you simply name some countries and then pick a book that’s set there. I decided to choose 7 books incorporating 11 countries.

I will admit that I don’t read YA so I’m breaking the rules and picking books that I have read that are set in the countries I chose.

1-Spain: The Beginning of The End by Manel Loureiro:

apocz

This is the first book in the Apocalypse Z trilogy and it is a great zombie read, told in a first person perspective focusing on the unnamed lawyer and his journal as he writes about his journey to find safety. A link to my review for the entire trilogy canbe found here: Apocalypse Z trilogy.

2-Russia: Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith:

child44

This is a thriller that I found to be dark and gritty but also a gripping read even though I guessed the plot twist quite early into the book, it didn’t detract from my enjoyment.

3-England, Switzerland and Austria: Jakob’s Colours by Lindsay Hawdon:

jc

This is a stunning emotional book that is thought provoking and deals with a harrowing subject, I really feel that it’s a book everyone should read. A link to my review giving a far more in-depth analysis canbe found here: Jakob’s Colours.

4-Australia: Tankbread by Paul Mannering:

tanbrd

This is a great fun zombie book with a unique take that I definitely recommend fans of the genre check out.

5-The Congo and Africa: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad:

hod

True classic book/novella that’s underlying message is the darkness of the human heart. It’s free on Kindle as it’s a classic and while it won’t be to everyones taste it is a great read.

6-USA: The Passage by Justin Cronin:

tpjc

The first book in The Passage trilogy and an amazing read, it’s a massive post apocalyptic tome that is well worth reading with a great story and a great cast of characters. To read far more about the book checkout my review here: The Passage.

7-Jamaica and The Caribbean: On Stranger Tides by Tim Powers:

ost

This is a great pirate book and yes, it’s the book that the On Stranger Tides Pirates of the Caribbean film is based, however the book is different and is far better than the movie, it’s well written, engrossing, action packed and is an iconic pirate tale.

Well folks, there you have it, a journey around the world in books that I have read, apologies for the short descriptions on some of the books but Uncharted 4 is calling me to play and I also have a review I need to start writing. 🙂

I tag anyone who feels like doing this tag, it’s good fun, give it a go.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Around the World in YA Book Tag.

  1. I’ve only read one book from your list… Heart of Darkness, which is one of the hardest reads I ever read. That was back in High School, so maybe I will give it another go. The rest of your list looks like some awesome books. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a list of awesome books, granted it’s a rather diverse list but there all awesome reads. 🙂 Think I have to agree about Heart of Darkness it is a hard book to read and it’s not for everyone but just like with Dracula I enjoy an occasional foray into the world of classics. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great tag and I love your choice of books – I’ve added a comment on your review of The Passage – many thanks for that! But I’m also interested in On Stranger Tides as I enjoy Tim Powers’ writing but haven’t come across this one – I’ll have to track it down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

