Poems/Lyrics

Man I was before.

Man I was before:

man-599299_1280

I’m not the Man I was before,

When you watched me stumble,

You saw me fall,

I held out my hand,

But you threw it away,

Casting aside who I was yesterday,

Staring up into your eyes,

I pleaded begging you why,

Looking at me from above,

I asked was my heart not enough?

I thought our love would last the ages,

The truth was you betrayed me,

With scorn I saw you turn,

Watching what we once had burn,

I have fought through all your lies,

Finding strength inside to rise,

Now time has passed,

I see clearly at long last,

Though I’m battle scarred and torn,

I’ve transformed,

I’m not the Man I was before.


Inspired by The Daily Post One Word Prompt: Transformation

2 thoughts on “Man I was before.

Leave a Reply

