Tags · Various Things

Liebster Award.

liebsteraward

I was nominated for this award by Sirenia at My Own Avalon.Β 

Many thanks to her, this is the first award that I have been nominated for, for my poetry and while really shocking and surprising it’s also really awesome! If you’re fans of meaningful words then you should definitely go and visit her blog! πŸ™‚

1. What was the most scariest moment in your life?

When I lost my way in life and found myself in a really dark place.

2. What or who inspires your writing?

My feelings inspire me to write. I never found it easy to open up and talk to people about how I was feeling, I’d just let it all build up inside and writing down how I felt helped me get my feelings out. Putting them into words and more specifically poems/lyrics was a constructive way to deal with what was going on inside.

3. How have you overcame writers block?

I haven’t had writers block as I wouldn’t class myself as a writer, I’m merely a guy who writes down his feelings in words.

4. Are you published, would you like to be published?

No, I’m not published and I know my writing isn’t good enough to ever be. If a miracle did happen it would be really great to get a poem published and I’d love to see a snippet of one of my book reviews in a book, that really would be awesome!

5. What do you think is your best poem or short story?

I’m not sure about the best so I’ll tell you the most meaningful and they would be The Departed which was written for my father after he died from cancer, here you can find Β a link to a post I wrote not long after I started blogging and it may give you some insight into the meaning that went into the poem. And more recently Goodbye which was written two months after Sully my dog had to be put to sleep.

6. Your favourite novel?

Hhmm, that’s a really tough one but I’d probably go with The Stand by Stephen King.

7. If you could meet an author who would you meet?

This one changes quite alot but at the moment it would be Mark Lawrence, all his books are amazing and I’d like to meet him to shake his hand and congratulate him on the awesomeness that is The Wheel of Osheim and thank him for the many hours of enjoyment all his books have given me.

8. If you were trapped on an island what three items would you have?

Hhhmm, a crossbow (to hunt), a nubile maiden and a bottle of Jack Daniels Honey! πŸ™‚

9. What is one thing in the world you’d like to change?

Tolerance, I feel that people should be more tolerant of each others differences and beliefs.

10. How long have you been writing?

Sporadically on and off for years, though until the turn of the year it had been a few years since I’d really wrote anything of meaning and I guess it’s just progressed since then, I’ll blame the blog for making me more creative!Β 

Ten random facts about me:

  1. I’m shy.
  2. I have tattoos-hence my blogs name! πŸ™‚
  3. I prefer the cold to the warm.
  4. I despise the wind, stupid, howling, gusting thing it is!
  5. I’m an only child or as we’re more commonly known a brat.
  6. I’m a huge Justin Bieber fan!!!……Muhaha gotcha I’m a Rock and Metal fan!
  7. I’m an animal lover.
  8. I don’t like seeds or eating things with seeds in them, yuck!
  9. I’m sarcastic.
  10. I’m a Sagittarius.

I’m not going to nominate any singular person or blog, I’m not sure who’s been awarded before and I don’t like to intrude on bloggers by tagging them if there busy writing posts so my nominations are……….anyone who puts pen to paper or finger to keyboard and writes, you all deserve it! πŸ™‚

If you wish to take part then use the same questions I did and here are the rules:

The rules:

Than the person who nominated you and post a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you. They will thank you for it and those who you nominate will also help you out as well.
Display the award on your blog β€” by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a β€œwidget” or a β€œgadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.) At the bottom of this post I’ve included a whole lot of images you can use for your 2016 Liebster Award.
For the 2016 Liebster Award I will be shaking things up! Write a 150-300 word post about your favourite blog that is not your own. Explain why you like the blog, provide links.
Provide 10 random facts about yourself. (This year I’m making this optional. If you wish to engage with your readers it’s a great idea to include random facts about you.)
Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 200 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post or mine if you don’t have all the information so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

35 thoughts on “Liebster Award.

  1. Interesting answers…
    – Mark Lawrence has really done a mighty job with his books,
    – Awesome answer for when you’re trapped on an island
    – Don’t underestimate your own power of writing- you write well and deserve to be published (yes, I’ve read your stuff!
    … also…
    – \m/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t underestimate your writing! There might be times when you read it and find nothing exceptional about it, but trust me that someone else will. Words touch people in different ways, you are just so used to how you feel, think and write that you could fail to see its uniqueness. I’ve really enjoyed the poems you’ve published because your style is different from the one I would write in, and I appreciate that a lot!
    Also, how can you hate the wind!? That made me laugh so much. I LOVE the wind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Normally I hate the wind cos it’s annoying hearing it howling while I’m trying to read and because it often results in damaging stuff and I’d rather be doing anything else than fixing a fence, etc. A breeze is fine, I like breezes but gusty, howling stuff that whistles hell no! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mark Lawrence is a great guy! I haven’t read any of his books yet (planning to in the 2nd half the year when I have more free time), but he’s an awesome dude on reddit and his blog. And he’s really an inspiration with all the issues he’s facing. Definitely would want to meet him, given the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Somehow, I missed this post. πŸ˜‚ Congrats on your award! I would’ve nominated you before but I didn’t think you posted tags. You remind me of my dad. That’s a good thing because my dad’s awesome. πŸ˜‰ We call him Quiet Storm because he’s the same way, always bottling up all his emotions. I’m glad you found a way to get them out in a constructive manner. That’s why I started writing. My dad would’ve said Jack Daniels and a bottle of sweet Vermouth. Nubile woman. Lol. What a polite way to phrase that. πŸ™ˆ Haha! That made me laugh so hard. He’d say that, too. Well, what guy wouldn’t? Except I’m thinking he’d say gun instead of crossbow, but hey, crossbows are so much cooler. Love that answer. πŸ€— Stephen King is my favorite writer of all time. Good one! I really love the poems you wrote for your father and Sully they’re so good. I love the name Sully. I was going to name one of the characters in my book that. I think you have a lot of writing talent, and if I ever publish one of my books, I’d love to have one of your reviews in it. πŸ˜‰ I’m a cold weather person, too. I’d rather freeze than die of heat exhaustion, and it gets really humid here in the summer. You almost had me on Justin Bieber. Haha! I was about to give you crap for it until I read what was below. I’m a rocker chick but I don’t have any tattoos. I’m such a punk ass. I wouldn’t last two seconds. What’s the coolest tattoo you have? Just curious. You don’t have to tell me if you don’t want. Anyway, nice post. It’s so nice to learn stuff about you. That’s the one thing I really like about tags.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks. 😊 I do occasionally post tags, depends, if I’m nominated, on my mood, how busy I am and if there interesting, I did both the Harry Potter and the Game of Thrones tags and thought this one was cool to, especially as it was down to my writing not just book reviewing. Ah, you see, a gun would run out of bullets whereas you could reuse the crossbow bolts-thinking there! πŸ˜‚ Ha, I liked my nubile young maiden comment, thought it was cool and seemed different to other people’s answers, glad it was well received as it was meant in fun. 😊

    Oh my, I despise Bieber, just yuck! 😠

    Damn straight, freezing rather than heat exhaustion is the way to go.

    Not sure about the coolest being honest, I like my faith ambigram and my tribal dragon, also I’ve got lyrics/chorus from the song ‘words mean nothing’ by Evergrey and I’ve got Mum and Dad tattooed, chavvy I know but they were always something I never thought I’d get until my dad died and then it just seemed appropriate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay, so good thing I need to stalk your blog to find out things about you for the blogger interview event cause I never saw this comment. Dude, you never reply to the comments in the thread. You always make me track them down. Grrr! How many more have I missed? You must’ve thought I was such a d-bag. Yeah, I did the Harry Potter tag. The GoT one looked fun but I don’t get pingbacks anymore so I don’t even know if anyone tagged me. I don’t remember seeing either of those on your blog. WP is weird sometimes. That’s smart. I would never survive on an island by myself cause I would’ve chosen the gun and starved to death. You would have to shoot something so I didn’t waste away to a pile of bones. 😝 I’d be a sad maiden at the mercy of a man. Ooh how that would kill me. πŸ˜‚ I also liked your nubile maiden comment. You make me laugh. I hate Justin Bieber. Canada must be so embarrassed he’s from there and now we’re stuck with him here. I love cold weather. Is it more cold than hot where you live? I’ve never been to England. I was supposed to go ten years ago, but that didn’t work out. It’s still on my list of places to travel. I actually applied to a job in London two weeks ago for fun. I’m qualified for it so who knows. That would be interesting if they called. All I know about the weather is it rains a lot and everyone complains about it.

      My brother has a faith tattoo on his wrist and hope on the other one. He says it helps him with his addiction. Dragons are definitely cool. Ooh I love song lyric tattoos. I want to see it. So where do you have all these tattoos? I’m so nosy. Sorry. My cousin is an artist and he draws his own tattoos so I’m always curious. I think you’d like the stuff he draws. It super dark but really cool. His legs look like a really badass comic book. You’re not a chav. I think it makes sense why you got them. My brother has “RIP Pop Pop” with a giant headstone on his back for my grandfather. It takes up half his back and it’s hideous. I’m so glad I don’t have to see if often. If anything is chavvy, that is. Well, in general, he’s extra chavvy. You know you really are an enigma. Such an appropriate Twitter name. I like learning more about you because I find you very interesting. You say you’re shy but I’m not convinced. It’s not easy to share your feelings with strangers. I think that’s kind of amazing. I really do love reading your poetry. It’s sad but it’s real and I think it’s great. There, lots of compliments and you’ll have to deal with it. 😝 Stop saying your writing is not good. I mean that. 😊

      Like

      1. Right, according to wordpress I’m replying to your actual comment not the comment thread though I thought I’d done that before however as you say wordpress sucks at times!

        Tattoos on arms and legs, alot are small and there all mainly in a red and black colour scheme cos that’s what I like. 😊

        I am shy but it’s easier to write about yourself online, I’ve seen a few bloggers write that so I’m not weird.

        Yes, it’s more hot than cold in the UK apart from the odd days and occasional weeks when it’s hot though it’s more windy rainy than either hot or cold.

        I think the thing with poetry especially for me is it couldbe crap and people might think WTF-being polite not swearing-ha! πŸ˜‚ but I write for myself and if I can find meaning in what I write even to the smallest degree then that’s all that matters. Though I just write what I feel and it usually rhymes, hence the heading is poems/lyrics and from reading a few poetry blogs there’s so many types of weird ass poetry out there! πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Now you’re replying to the actual comment. Yay! Success. I like red and black. All black tattoos aren’t as fun unless it’s something simple like script letters or something small. And tattoos that have too much color are sometimes a bit of an eyesore. So you’re shy in your normal life and not your online life? A lot of bloggers say that. Come out of your shell, Drew. 😝I’m definitely not shy in person. I always gets nervous when I have to meet new people but I adapt after five minutes. I’m actually more restrained online because I’d scare the crap out of some people if I just said what comes to mind. You’d probably be afraid of me in real life then. Huh? Haha! I’m just messing with you. I’m a total ball buster. You get used to it. It’s one of my many charms. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t read one poem that I thought was crap. Yeah, I’ve read a few poetry blogs that are really strange. And they just sound like someone yelling. Your poems always make me feel something when I read them. That’s why I like them so much. Isn’t it like the middle of the night where you live right now? You must be a night owl like me.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Wow you get up early. I’m guessing you work with your hands. The only people I know that start work that early work for a union. I start at 7:30 and I still think that’s too early. I like my sleep, but I usually don’t sleep more than a few hours cause I like being up at night. 😴 Ahh so you’re that sarcastic quiet person who randomly jumps into the conversation with that on snarky comment. Nice! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ah, nope, I have a crappy menial job in a supermarket hence why I like reading and gaming to escape reality! Yeah, I do enjoy a good comment! I think I replied to all your comments earlier though a few may have gone to the post not the actual comment! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That makes sense. I read and write to escape my own reality. I’d rather be anywhere but here. I think you did. My WordPress is blowing up today. I’ll have to look through them. I hate when I don’t see comments. I feel like I’m being a jerk. I don’t get some bloggers who answer like 6 weeks later. No one would want to follow me if replied that late. What’s your favorite video game of all time? I have 2 from back in the day that I was obsessed with. Sorry I’m so nosy. Is that an annoying American thing to do? 😝 Probably.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I think being nosey is an annoying female thing! not restricted to just Americans! πŸ™‚ Oh my, favourite video game ever, hhmm, I’ll give you a top 5 instead as 1 just seems unfair! Zelda: Ocarina of Time, God of War, Bioshock, WWF Wrestlemania 2000-weird but I had it on the N64 and spent many countless fun filled hours playing that game and Red Dead Redemption.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I suppose that’s true. Women are nosy creatures. Ooh I love Zelda. I used to play that when I was a kid. I sound so old saying that. I keep thinking I’m 25 and I just turned 33. I hate it. πŸ™ˆ It’s like a dirty word. I still look 25 so whatever. Next I’ll start talking about Atari and the 80s. Lol. Of course, wrestling is on that list. πŸ˜‰ My favorites are Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter. I’ve always been a little scrappy. I love fighting games and blowing shit up. Do you remember that video game from like 20 years ago called Paper Boy?

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I’m sorry I made you write that. πŸ˜‚ I’m still going to post my butterfly poem so everyone can make fun of me. Yours was so good though. How am I supposed to top that one? I’m trying so hard to think of something and I’m drawing a blank. All I know is butterfly spread her wings is going in there. That’s as far as I got. Fridays lately have been really slow blog days since summer started. Most of the people I used to talk to all the time are hardly around anymore. That’s why I’ve been posting less. Where’s my poem for the day? Did you write one for today?

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Maybe, got to write one first, daily prompt is ‘pleasure’ fluffy has pleasure written in it so could have posted that! Fairly sure I answered the poetry for the day question on fluffy bunny so that comment may have gone to the post not the comment itself. But I’ll try and come up with something even if it’s shoddy! πŸ™‚ Got to make amends for fluffy!

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Pleasure is a good prompt. Fluffy would’ve been perfect for that. Well, at least I liked Fluffy. It still makes me laugh. I guess this one can’t be sexual after Fluffy. I laugh every time I think about Fluffy will let you grab his magic stick. LMAO. Did you do a face off post today?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

