Friday Face-Off · Various Things

Friday Face-Off 1st July.

PicShop-81E06BFD79981634E40E7ABFCAC8D509_resized_1

The Friday Face-Off is a new meme created by Books by Proxy, where the idea is to compare the UK and US covers of a book with each week  being a certain theme, this week’s theme in lieu of Proxyfish’s recent absence from the blogging community is a ‘free’ theme week where I chose one of my favourite books no matter the cover content.

This week I have chosen: Swan Song by Robert McCammon.

Instead of just comparing the UK and US cover, For the Face-Off this week I’m going to give you a choice of 8 different covers, labelling them A through to H.

Cover A:

sw1

Cover B:

sw4

Cover C:

sw2

Cover D:

Grunge paper

Cover E:

sw5

Cover F:

sw6

Cover G:

sw8

Cover H:

sw7


winners

The Winner’s: Cover D and Cover G:

sws

Even though both are really different in their artistic directions I really like both these covers and couldn’t pick between them, unfortunately for myself I only have Cover: C as it’s the Kindle edition cover for us in the UK. This is one of my favourite books and I definitely recommend it for any fans out there of massive hefty tomes and post-apocalyptic epics, it gets compared to The Stand by Stephen King (amazing book) alot and to me it’s an unfair comparison as while yes, there are similarities between the two, let’s be fair that’s to be expected in a post-apocalyptic world and for me, Swan Song holds up in its own right as an outstanding book and is more than worthy of sitting alongside Stephen King’s The Stand and Justin Cronin’s The Passage as some of the best in post-apocalyptic writing out there.

Thoughts?? Agree?? Disagree??

Book Blurb:

Something flashes in nine-year-old Swan’s brain, telling her that trouble is coming. Maybe it’s her mother, fed up with her current boyfriend and ready to abandon their dismal trailer park and seek a new home. But something far worse is on the horizon. Death falls from the sky—nuclear bombs which annihilate American civilization. Though Swan survives the blast, this young psychic’s war is just beginning.
 
As the survivors try to make new lives in the wasteland, an evil army forms, intent on murdering all those tainted with the diseases brought by fallout. When Swan finds a mysterious amulet that could hold the key to humankind’s salvation, she draws the attention of a man more dangerous than any nuclear bomb. To rescue mankind, this little girl will have to grow up fast.
23 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off 1st July.

    1. Any are better than the shoddy Kindle cover! 😂 The retro ones are pretty cool they just didn’t really fit with my impression of the book, saying that if I’d been around and reading when the retro covers were out most of them would’ve made me want to read the book. 😊

      Like

  1. This week I have to agree with you. 😂Damn, cause I really wanted to be that annoying person who said they liked another cover. Ha! Some of the covers are really bad. Your poor Kindle. It must cry when you open that book. 😂 I never realized one book could have so many covers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that’s weird I picked the same two covers before seeing which you chose. I think between the two I’m leaning towards D but something about the first two covers just doesn’t do it for me and cover C is just too plain!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with your picks. I looked up the book on Overdrive and it has the same cover as your kindle. I did put the book on my wait list. I’ll suggest this book to my fiance because he is reading The Stand.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes… I’ll go with most of the other visitors and pick D. What an amazing spread of covers you got there, Drew! I thought I was doing well with 4. And there is also a real variety of approaches, too – although F is frankly plain revolting…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. With that title, I didn’t expect those covers. Some were scary looking. I kept wondering what the hell is this book about. Anyways, my picks are the same as yours but I’m leaning more toward the orange cover since it’s a post apocalyptic story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

