Various Things · WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday 27th July 2016.

www wednesdays

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.

A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1-What are you currently reading?

nevernightuk

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff.

I’ really enjoying this book now, I’m on page 229 and while I’m not sure it’s deserving of all the plaudits it’s getting it is still a quality read though I do have about two thirds still to go as it’s a rather hefty tome! 🙂

Book Blurb:

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, a sixteen year old Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic ― the Red Church. Treachery and trials await her with the Church’s halls, and to fail is to die. But if she survives to initiation, Mia will be inducted among the chosen of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the only thing she desires.

Revenge.


2-What did you recently finish reading?

bttwagers

Behind The Throne by K.B Wagers.

This was complete surprise book post for me and while I’m not generally a sci-fi fan and it’s not a genre I often frequent. I found this to be a really good book with a great main character. (Still to write my review).


ponightmares

Prince of Nightmares by John McNee.

I found this to be a top notch horror novel, it’s very much a haunted house well hotel story but thanks to the authors writing he depicts some really vivid and disturbing imagery making it a really good read for fans of the genre.

My review canbe found here.

Book Blurb:

Welcome to the Ballador Country House Hotel. Nestled in the highlands of Scotland, it is unlike any other lodging. Guests can expect wonderful scenery, gourmet food, and horrifying nightmares—guaranteed. Daring travelers pay thousands to stay within the Ballador’s infamous rooms because of the vivid and frightening dreams the accommodations inspire.

Before Josephine Teversham committed suicide, she made a reservation at the hotel for her husband, Australian magnate Victor Teversham. Once he arrives at the hotel, Victor finds himself the target of malevolent forces, revealing the nightmares—and their purpose—to be more strange, personal, and deadly than anyone could have guessed.


rdUK

Red Queen by Christina Henry.

After reading Alice the first part in this duology and really enjoying it I had to read the second part to. While not quite as dark as Alice, Red Queen is still a cracking good second part of the duology and is well worth reading.

My review canbe found here.

Book Blurb:

The land outside of the Old City was supposed to be green, lush, hopeful. But the verdant fields are nothing but ash and hope is nowhere to be found. Still, Alice and Hatcher are on a mission to find his daughter: a quest they will not forsake even as it takes them deep into the clutches of the mad White Queen or into the realm of the twisted and cruel Black King. The pieces are set and the game has begun, and each move brings Alice closer to her destiny.


shsohpk

Sherlock Holmes and the Servants of Hell by Paul Kane.

Wow, just wow for this book, a mash-up of genres featuring Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes and Clive barker’s Hellraiser/Cenobites. A outstanding book and for me it’s one of the surprise books of the year.

My review canbe found here.

Book Blurb:

Late 1895, and Sherlock Holmes and his faithful companion Dr John Watson are called upon to investigate a missing persons case. On the face of it, this seems like a mystery that Holmes might relish – as the person in question vanished from a locked room – and something to occupy him other than testing the limits of his mind and body.
But this is just the start of an investigation that will draw the pair into contact with a shadowy organisation talked about in whispers and known only as ‘The Order of the Gash’. As more and more people go missing in a similar fashion, the clues point to a sinister asylum in France and to the underworld of London. However, it is an altogether different underworld that Holmes will soon discover – as he finds himself face to face not only with those followers who do the Order’s bidding on Earth, but those who serve it in Hell: the Cenobites…


3-What do you think your’ll read next?

poisoncity

Poison City by Paul Crilley.

It has an alcoholic talking dog in it, that just exudes awesome, enough said! 🙂

Book Blurb:

The name’s Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things – finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I’m going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone’s mother than a cop. Don’t let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks, he watches TV all day, and he’s a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine – I solve crimes, I search for my daughter’s killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I’m called out to the murder of a ramanga – a low-key vampire – basically, the tabloid journalist of the vampire world. It looks like an open and shut case. There’s even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except… the face on the CCTV footage? It’s the face of the man who killed my daughter. I’m about to face a tough choice. Catch her killer or save the world? I can’t do both.

It’s not looking good for the world.


Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

16 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 27th July 2016.

  1. We must’ve posted ours at the exact time. Weird. 😝 This reminds me I still need to read Alice. I think I have about 50 books I own and have to read at this point. 😂 And I’ve bought a lot of the books you liked, so now I need to see what all the fuss is about. I wish I could stay in bed all day and read them and have someone bring me soup. 😉 I’m glad you’re keeping your Goodreads up-to-date. It makes Mistress happy. 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s around the time I posted mine. I’m not a fan of the header for the meme. I think I’ll change mine next time. Alice sounds cool and creepy. The cover says it all. I read a dark version of Wonderland a few weeks ago. I imagine Alice is like that but much darker. You will do it and you’ll like it. 😝 Ha! You can do what you want just tell me where you’re at in the book, which you do anyway. I’m such a demanding Mistress. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Okay, fine! Bossy is probably a more accurate assessment. I’m just used to being in charge. 😉 Me, too! I’m not loving the colors for this one and it feels too generic. I was thinking about changing it, but I don’t feel like making a new header today.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maybe the hype killed Nevernight a bit for you! It happened to me with a thriller earlier this month. ‘Good, but not great’ books are better than terrible, riddled with errors and typos books!
    A mean drunk dog. I love the idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m pretty sure the bit of the pitch that went – “the book features an alcoholic, grouchy, talking dog” – sold Poison City to the publisher! I look forward to hearing what you think.
    I read Nevernight recently, but I’ve been holding back my review until nearer the publication date. I really enjoyed it, although I can understand the issues some readers seem to be having with the style (you can’t please everyone!).

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/07/27/www-wednesday-27th-july-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooh I didn’t know about that dark Alice series, I’ll have to check it out. I like the sound of Prince of Nightmares too. You can’t go wrong with haunted hotel stories, especially ones set in the Highlands 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m immediately down for an alcoholic talking dog. I’m glad the duology ended well, a disappointing end can ruin a book. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

