Tags · Various Things

The Secret Life of A Book Blogger Tag.

secret-life-of-book-blogger

I was tagged for this by my evil arch nemesis Jill at RantandRaveaboutBooks. Many thanks Jillian and to my fellow bloggers I highly recommend you hop on over to Jill’s blog and give it a peruse and a follow as it really is a great blog. πŸ™‚

How long have you been a blogger?

My blog was born on March 5th 2016.

thettbgawesome

At what point do you think you will stop?

Hopefully I won’t, unfortunately you never know what the future holds. However, as long as I continue to enjoy blogging I’ll try my best to keep at it.

What is the best part?

Being part of a community of people who enjoy the same thing I do. As, it’s recently been mentioned to me that I’m not a ‘typical book blogger’ I still find it really cool being part of the book blogger world.

174

What is the worst part?

Writing reviews!

tumblr_lp5q4tffn71qhcw62o1_500

I’m not very confident in my writing ability as I know I lack the eloquent prose of a lot of other bloggers and write in a more informal style. And I sometimes wonder if my reviews are up to standard. So, for me that’s the worst part, thinking, is my review good enough? Does the review do the book and author justice?

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

Not very long, I don’t create pictures myself as I’m not that talented and use Pixabay for images. Gifs I find from searching Google, that takes a bit longer as I like to browse and find the gif I like the most and is associated with something I like and/or watch (wrestling, gaming, TV shows).

Hence the Transfomers gif you will see below.

hotrod

Who’s your book crush?

I don’t have a book crush, I’m far to old for that!

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Only one seems such so cruel!

But I’m going to go with Justin Cronin, author of The Passage trilogy (The Passage, The Twelve and City of Mirrors). I think it would be really cool to learn more about the books and story behind them – I’m sure I remember reading somewhere that The Passage came about as Cronin’s daughter asked him to write a decent vampire book.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

Hhhhmmm, well, hhhmm……….this depends on my mood which goes through various states of craziness! I have been known to dress as a Pirate while blogging, pretending I’m sailing on the seven seas and visualising that I’m going through my plunder instead of writing a blog post. I’ve also on occasion dressed all in black as a Ninja, blending in the shadows and blogging in secret, Ninja style!

ninja-28715_640

Once I even dressed in full on Samurai garb complete with a Katana pretending I was blogging in feudal Japan, sort of like a cheesy movie with UK dubbing. For all you fantasy fans out there who will know who he is, I’ve also dressed as Logen Ninefingers waving my sword in the air and running around! A Vicar, I would blog while pretending I was writing my sermon to save the masses from damnation. A headmaster, pretending I was going through all the naughty school girls reports instead of reading blog posts.

And finally, Hannibal from the A-Team as I loved that show back in the day and merely because when I have finished writing my blog post I can paraphrase Hannibal and say ‘I love it when a post comes together’.

The-A-Team

In all seriousness, I’m a casual guy and generally wear jeans and a t-shirt (WWE or band) while blogging though as it’s summer I’ve progressed to wearing jorts (jean shorts – well cut off jeans) with the t-shirt.

Sorry ladies, if your looking for a blogger who dresses like James Bond then that’s not me!

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

My reviews take a while as I like to try and make them the best I can and after drafting I will go back, read and reread again to see if anything needs changing.

Not that long for other posts, I don’t participate in many memes, both Teaser Tuesday and Waiting on Wednesday are easy enough to draft up but I do occasionally have some trouble with the Friday Face-Off meme and find it takes time though that’s dependent on the weeks theme and if I can find a book to fit the theme, if not it’s of searching through Goodreads I go!

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

Awesome and friendly!

And, no I’m not writing that simply because people will hopefully read this post, it’s true. You have accepted my blog and my poetry and for that I thankyou.

S2AtElN

The book blogger community brings book lovers of varying ages, from all across the world together to discuss and share their views on all different genres of books. One of the reasons I started blogging was because I don’t know many people who like reading and what I found with the blogging community was a group of people who like myself enjoy reading, what’s not to like!

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

Firstly, simply enjoy it, if your a genuine book lover and enjoy blogging it will show.

Secondly, make the blog personal to you, from the actual blog name through to the posts, put your own stamp on it so your blog reflects you the person.

large

Who do I want to know more?

I’m not going to nominate anyone, if you feel like doing this tag then please do, as, well, you know you really want to tell the world what you wear when you blog!


 Come join the fun and follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

36 thoughts on “The Secret Life of A Book Blogger Tag.

  1. I’m glad you did this tag without me bugging you. Good boy! I promised not to nag and I didn’t. πŸ˜‰ Now I want pics of you in these weird outfits. πŸ˜‚ I also like your reviews. You’ve convinced me to buy 3 big boy books recently. I haven’t read them yet but I will. I’m evolving. πŸ€— Totally agree with being yourself. I’ve always been me and if people don’t like it they can love it or shove it. Did I mention I’m a real charmer? πŸ˜‚ Ha! It’s so obvious when I’m reading a review or checking out someone’s blog and they have no personality in their writing that they’re holding back, especially if I can’t even find it on their about page. Or maybe they’re just boring. Who knows.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally feel you when it comes to reviews! I am always really self-conscious about mine and never feel like they worthily represent the book I’m reviewing! Also: I really enjoyed reading your post, it’s very good!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha, I might have known it was American, if Jill was around she’d be proclaiming how I know to many American words! 😊

        Oh, well, being honest if I’m going to be famous for a new word I’d prefer it to be something foul mouthed, sarcastic and vulgar! πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Hahaha, yes, Jill would tell ya alright! πŸ™‚
        And high fives for foul mouthed, sarcastic and vulgar! πŸ˜‰ Keep me posted if you do invent something beautiful such as this…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know why you worry about your writing style, I like your writing in the blogs, besides look at mine its much worse in terms of writing , heck English isn’t even my first language , nor is it my second and I don’t even bother trying to look up new words or re-reading drafts like you do . you put in a lot of effort on your blog and it shows and I always enjoy reading your blog when I am sitting on my clinic with no patients

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d also prefer to be famous for a foul mouthed smut word, not a word like jorts. The spellcheck is even saying it’s wrong. Definitely not an American word I’ve heard of. That one’s up there with shufti. πŸ˜‚ Now, I’m thinking we should combine our superpowers and create our own Brit-American slang word with lots of smutry. πŸ€— That’s a word I invented. Booya! 😝

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reviews should be the easiest and fun part, right? I always doubt my writing (often for good reasons xD) and then there’s this pressure of doing the book justice with your own words when you know you’re no *insert name of an author’s writing style you admire”. But don’t worry, your reviews are great, Marshmallow! How can you call yourself a gentleman if you don’t blog with a James Bond fashion style?! I’m utterly disappointed :p

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m too old to have a book crush….dude, I’m older than you and I can still find a crush every now and then ^^. *shakes head* I love your reviews as well (agreeing with the other commenters). It also takes me hours to make one as, but I stopped being nervous about what people might think of it a while ago. If they don’t like it, then I either fucked up or we just don’t have the same sense of humour *shrugs*, too bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah but you see I mainly read Fantasy (Grimdark) and most of the lead characters are male – not my type to have a crush on. And, I can’t really say I have a crush on generic buxom strumpet number 1 (Not a bad name for Jill actually) that the author gets the main character to sleep with! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 2 people

  7. It takes me forever to write reviews because I’m trying to not say the same things I say about every book I like. It’s SO frustrating sometimes and I’ve gotten to the point where if I don’t have a lot to say about a book, then it’s just a short review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

