Teaser Tuesday · Various Things

Teaser Tuesday 2nd August.

PicShop-D5143D02F20BD39365D1667FF2E687F9_resized

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted on Books and a Beat.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Choice: Poison City by Paul Crilley.

poisoncity

Page 3:

‘You know where he is?’ asks the dog.
I nod.
‘And…what? You’re going to walk in and take him on?’
‘No choice. Another kid went missing yesterday. Might still be time to save him.’
‘Doubt it,’ says the dog cheerfully. ‘Come on. Forget it. Let’s go out drinking instead. Drinking is good. Hunting gods is bad.’

Book Blurb:

The name’s Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things – finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I’m going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone’s mother than a cop. Don’t let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks, he watches TV all day, and he’s a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine – I solve crimes, I search for my daughter’s killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I’m called out to the murder of a ramanga – a low-key vampire – basically, the tabloid journalist of the vampire world. It looks like an open and shut case. There’s even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except… the face on the CCTV footage? It’s the face of the man who killed my daughter. I’m about to face a tough choice. Catch her killer or save the world? I can’t do both.

It’s not looking good for the world.


Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

 

18 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday 2nd August.

Leave a Reply

