Various Things · WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday 10th August 2016.

www wednesdays

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.

A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1-What are you currently reading?

cofd

Children of the Different by S.C. Flynn.

Book Blurb:

Nineteen years ago, a brain disease known as the Great Madness killed most of the world’s population. The survivors all had something different about their minds. Now, at the start of adolescence, their children enter a trance-like state known as the Changeland and emerge either with special mental powers or as cannibalistic Ferals.

In the great forest of South West Western Australia, thirteen-year-old Arika and her twin brother Narrah go through the Changeland. They encounter an enemy known as the Anteater who feeds on human life. He exists both in the Changeland and in the outside world, and he wants the twins dead.

After their Changings, the twins have powers that let them fight their enemy and face their destiny on a long journey to an abandoned American military base on the north-west coast of Australia…if they can reach it before time runs out.

2-What did you recently finish reading?

poisoncity

Poison City by Paul Crilley.

Awesome book, I really enjoyed it and will be posting my review tomorrow to coincide with the books UK release date. So, it goes without saying my fellow bookish peeps, if you want to read my review and don’t already, then start following my blog! 🙂

Book Blurb:

The name’s Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things – finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I’m going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone’s mother than a cop. Don’t let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks, he watches TV all day, and he’s a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine – I solve crimes, I search for my daughter’s killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I’m called out to the murder of a ramanga – a low-key vampire – basically, the tabloid journalist of the vampire world. It looks like an open and shut case. There’s even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except… the face on the CCTV footage? It’s the face of the man who killed my daughter. I’m about to face a tough choice. Catch her killer or save the world? I can’t do both.

It’s not looking good for the world.

3-What do you think your’ll read next?

bite

Bite by K. S. Merbeth.

The books description is: KILL. EAT. REPEAT. Bite is a post-apocalyptic action adventure for fans of Mad Max, Fallout and Borderlands: in a dangerous wasteland, Kid accepts a ride in the wrong jeep, accidentally joining a bloodthirsty raider crew . . .

Now, for both the reader and the gamer in me that sounds awesome! Mad Max = cool, Borderlands = cool and Fallout (especially Fallout 3) is pure awesome! 🙂

Book Blurb:

Hungry and alone in the desert, Kid is picked up on the side of the road by Wolf, Dolly, Tank and Pretty Boy: a raider crew with a big, bad reputation and even bigger guns.
But as they journey across the wasteland, Kid learns that her saviours are hiding a terrible secret. In a world that’s lost its humanity, how long will Kid stay hungry before she loses hers?

 


Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

Advertisements

28 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 10th August 2016.

  1. Poison City looks phenomenal… Even from the synopsis, I feel the suspense and intensity of a man faced with one of the hardest choices ever. But it also seems fairly humorous at the same time. I can’t wait to read your review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s