Poems/Lyrics

My Own Hell

My Own Hell:

love-699480_1280

With calloused hands, gnarled,

I carry the burden of the world,

The weight of all I’ve ever known,

Your betrayal left me with a heart of stone,

My past consumes, is crushing me,

Remembering how things used to be,

Your lies, the mistakes I’ve made,

Scared of the future, I’m afraid,

Sadness continues to haunt my mind,

I can’t see hope with blinded eyes,

Hollow, worthless and cast aside,

Can’t save myself, I feel so cold inside,

I’m not a man, I’m a broken shell,

Lost, journeying  through my own hell,

It should have been me that died,

Now, I question why I’m left alive.


Inspired by the daily post’s daily prompt: Mistake

24 thoughts on “My Own Hell

Leave a Reply

