Blog Tour · Book Reviews

Preceded by Chaos by M. Wheeler Blog Tour (Guest Post).

mareril-final-ebook-cover-15-8-16-9781911110774-perfect

Preceded by Chaos: Vol 0 Book Blurb:

…Preceded by Chaos is an illustrated short story. The protagonist, Mitchell Weaver, is a young Emergency Medicine doctor. Mitchell has entered a high stress, distinguished profession with the burden of a variety of particularly disturbing personal demons that he must battle every day in order to maintain the façade of sanity and control. The initial installment of the series, Volume 0, introduces the reader to Mitchell at a point in his life where he has begun to realize that many of his prior indulgences and deficits are no longer compatible with his current life of responsibility.


Today on TheTattooedBookGeek I’m privileged to be taking part in The Preceded by Chaos by M. Wheeler Blog Tour, bringing you a guest post from the author himself.

Guest Post:

“…Preceded by Chaos” is a story about a young Emergency Medicine physician who is having a difficult time, actually very difficult time, adjusting to the pressures associated with his job. The story has an established arc and the first volume introduces the reader to the story in the middle of the arc and all subsequent books move forward in time or back in time, relative to volume 0. Volume 0 introduces us to the main character, Mitchell Weaver, at a time where Mitchell is reaching a transition point between who he was and who he will be and the story ahead of him is as important as the story behind him. As each book is different in subject matter and tone, the initial book, Volume 0, is an important place to start because it documents Mitchell’s hunt to find a good friend he has lost which is symbolic of the series which details Mitchell’s journey to find himself.

This series is primarily about a doctor but while addressing issues such as mental illness, substance abuse, infidelity, physical abuse and so on, it also deals with issues that are not unique to medical professionals. On a few occasions I’ve been asked about my motivations behind writing such a book.

For me, being motivated to write is odd way for me to think of why I write. Mostly I just get tired of ideas for stories clouding my thoughts and not allowing me to take care of the task at hand. So therapeutically, and in the name of focus, I write the ideas down as so I can clear my head of the clutter. For instance, during medical school and residency we had mechanisms, in the form of lectures and counseling sessions, in place to instruct us on how to deal with stress. I was born to a 16 year old single mother and a father who was a drug dealer and heroine addict, so making the grade fell a bit below my threshold of needing crisis counseling. So, naively I viewed these services as just another class to attend or another claim made at the minimal free time I had available to me. It wasn’t until I witnessed colleagues dropping out, abusing drugs and, in a few instances, taking their own lives, that I realized that the effects of the stress were unmistakably real. Being from a background where I hadn’t had much exposure to people with this level of pedigree and intellect, I was stupefied by how these well nurtured, brilliant people could be so vulnerable and so normal.

Then ideas for stories about my comrades began to consume my RAM, that was once reserved for medical knowledge, and my immediate attention, that was typically occupied by issues related to patient care. So I guess my motivation to write had, in part, stemmed from my desire not kill someone through medical negligence and, in part, from my desire to tell a tale about the humanness of those who we at times think are beyond reproach.

In order to create this series, I’ve taken interesting, and in some cases disturbing, situations and people that I have seen during my career and I have placed them in environments that I am familiar with. PBC is a fictional series not based on any one individuals life but rather a collage of individual lives amalgamated into Mitchell and put on display for the reader to understand that we all suffer from the human condition.

Thank you for the opportunity to entertain you.  I truly enjoyed writing “…Preceded by Chaos.”

I hope you love it or at least find it interesting enough to continue through the arc. It gets good!!!

Please visit the website, at www.precededbychaos.com, for free multimedia content and to learn more about the series. Like us on Face Book, at Preceded by Chaos, and follow us on Twitter, at #precededbychaos.

M. Wheeler


mareril-final-ebook-cover-15-8-16-9781911110774-perfect

Preceded by Chaos is available to purchase:

Amazon UK   /  Amazon US  /  The Book Depository


About the Author:

M. Wheeler held an eclectic series of jobs – including working as a studio engineer and a teacher –

before he entered medical school in his thirties. During his residency while living in New York City, he wrote his first two books which would eventually become the Preceded by Chaos series. Wheeler travels extensively for his job but currently lives in Miami.


Website  /  Twitter  /  Facebook


Well, that concludes my stop on The Learn Blog Tour, thanks for stopping by and below you can find the tour schedule.

mareril-wheeler_banner-1

4 thoughts on “Preceded by Chaos by M. Wheeler Blog Tour (Guest Post).

Leave a Reply

