Various Things · Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin.

wow

Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  Each Wednesday you get to highlight a book that your really looking forward to. This week I’ve chosen:

 The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin.

winds

The Winds of Winter is the forthcoming sixth novel in the epic fantasy series A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin.

The previous installment, A Dance with Dragons, covered less story than Martin intended, omitting at least one planned large battle sequence and leaving several character threads ending in cliffhangers. Martin intends to resolve these cliffhangers “very early” in The Winds of Winter, saying “I’m going to open with the two big battles that I was building up to, the battle in the ice and the battle at Meereen—the battle of Slaver’s Bay. And then take it from there.”

The expected publication date is:

grrm


Yes, I’m well aware that most of us have been waiting for this book for ages, I’m merely having  abit of fun with this post. 🙂


Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

68 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin.

  1. I hate this wait, it’s making me forget so much. I was one of the lucky ones who started reading at a time where all of the others were already published (and I thought WoW would be by the time I got there), so this wait is killing my flow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ah the wait… the only thing that can make fans not give a crap.. thankfully, for me, however.. I haven’t started reading the books yet. I have the first one ready and waiting and I shall start reading it when the last one in the series is published. Then I am gonna lock myself into a room and have a proper reading marathon! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am still..always… waiting. I was fortunate enough to have started the series after all all previous installments were completed, but now I know the pain. I actually get pretty pissed about this. It has become absurd. I used to laugh, but now I become angered at the fact that an entire following has been left hanging. I understand that things take time, but at this point it feels neglectful and almost under appreciative. I read somewhere the series was being altered so as not to spoil the books? Readers should never be left in this position for such a long time.. 😠

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read that about the series, I read that GRRM himself told the show executives the ending and plots, etc so that they can keep it in line with the books but we shall see when the book is finally released.

      There’s lots of other great fantasy series out there so I don’t mind the wait as such but it is very annoying as it’s years and years and years now between the books.

      The post was just fun though hence the zombie picture at the bottom. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting article, being honest I could care less if the TV show went of in a completely different story, they are in front of the books now, it’s not like taking the source material and rewriting it, like if they had done with book 1 and say Ned didn’t die as the TV executives saw money in his character – though Sean Bean dies a lot so it is to be expected with his character.😂 But with them in front of the books, I’m cool if the books turn out to be different as I like both the show and the books and will watch and read both.😀

        Hhhmm, in line for that sh!t….I wonder if there’ll be ARC’s available!😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha.. poor Sean Bean. I love that man and he always dies on me. I seriously have a pinterest board dedicated to his deaths.

        I agree though. I love the show and books. I was excited personally to read that the books might branch off a bit. It felt like a win win. Since both have been providing great material in my opinion. If they have an ARC you will be the lucky turd to score it hah 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, as long as it’s better than A Feast for Crow’s and has some epic battles like the TV show then I’ll be happy with the book but if there’s no battles in the book and they happen “off page” only for a Raven to bring dark tidings/bad news to others then Ggggrrrr!😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The book needs to be released before I can even review it, fingers crossed for ARC’s!😂

        I have wrote a couple of rant reviews already, I even used “Fubar” in one of them!😂 But yeah, maybe it’d be a short one sentence review and not a rant “a Raven appeared bringing a message, I’m sorry George, your book sucked” 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah, Fubar, the review ending was “To conclude, Dietz likes to use military acronyms throughout the book and while it’s not technically a military acronym and is more a slang term derived from WW2. I have one that is very apt in describing my feelings towards this book perfectly: FUBAR”.😂

        OK, deal, if I hate it, I’ll do that and he’s getting older, can’t turn back time, after Winds of Winter he’ll need another decade to finish the final book!😂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love these books. While I’d love to see a new volume as soon as possible, the fact that we have the first 5 is a gift. If he got run over by a bus tomorrow, I’d be sad to see such a huge talent pass, and disappointed not to see him finish the series but at least we got what we did. I’m a little disappointed when I see fans get so demanding about their perceived timeline of when a book should or shouldn’t be published. It’s a little entitled. As Neil Gaiman so famously said “George R.R.Martin is not your bitch.” Neither is Brandon Sanderson, or Patrick Rothfuss or anyone else who writes and shares their writing with us. IMO

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true, the post was merely aimed as being a joke but you’re right about him being a huge talent. I’d like the book sooner rather than later especially as I’ve been waiting ages but it’s the same with Rothfuss, having the book now would be great but we just have to wait.

      What really annoys me is when people moan about it though as if it’s the only fantasy series out there, while they wait there are so many other top quality authors and series for people to read.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Please don’t think I was implying that you were a complainer too. I understood where you were coming from. What I was referring to is some of the stuff I see online directed at these authors. I follow Pat Rothfuss on Facebook/Twitter and anytime he post pretty much anything, the first messages back from fans are “Hey, stop talking and write the book.” It just annoys me to no end and I just want to yell at them, “Go write your own freaking book! Oh you can’t? Well then shut the hell up!” Ok, Ok. I’m calming down, I promise. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No worries, I didn’t think that but I do complain at times.😂

        I’ve seen that with Rothfuss and others on Twitter to. What annoys me the most is that people proclaim that the wait is ruining the fantasy genre for them and they won’t read any other books – it’s their loss as there’s some great authors/books out there.😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I too am excited for this book. Do you watch the show? I am also patiently waiting for that to continue as well. I totally lucked out one day and came across his books for sale at a library book sale. They were books 2-5 all first edition first printing. Number 2 was even signed! I ordered the first one on eBay with the original cover but it is a book club edition. I only paid $36 total for all 5.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha I love that gif! I’m afraid the dead will have to rise IRL before we will see a published copy of the next book… And I’m secretly hoping that will actually happen so we can finally read it, because for now I’m not sure if Martin isn’t just playing with us all and not even writing it. Either that or he killed all the characters after one question too many about the publish date. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m hoping it’ll be out next year. But I know that he is working so hard to make it the best he can make it, so I’m OK waiting for it. And the show hasn’t spoiled anything for me, as GRRM will write it differently and with far more detail than the show could ever have. Plus my favorite character, Sansa, is so completely different on the show than in the books! And Jaime as well.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, I hang my head in shame. 😞
        I’ve been meaning to but I get distracted with other things… (Homer: “Distracted, that’s a funny word. I wonder if anyone has ever been tracted? I think I’ll call the suicide hotline and ask…”)
        Sorry…see what I mean? I use Simpsons quotes randomly! I have no focus! 😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

