Standalone Sunday · Various Things

Standalone Sunday: December Park by Ronald Malfi.

sssundaysss

Standalone Sunday is a meme created by Megan at BookslayerReads. Where each Sunday you feature a book that is a standalone and not a part of a series that you really like and would recommend to others.

Remember to either link back to Megan’s post or leave her a link to yours in the comments section of her post so that she can add your post to the list.

This is my first time participating in this. I’m mainly a fantasy fan and as such, think that this is a great idea because lets face it, most fantasy books are part of a trilogy or series and it’s nice to occasionally read a standalone. Though my choice isn’t actually a fantasy book, surprisingly I do on occasion read other books to! πŸ™‚

My Choice:

ssdp

December Park by Ronald Malfi. This is a book that combines a thriller with a coming of age story as a group of teenagers hunt for a serial killer. It’s an amazing book with a great set of characters that the story revolves around, each of the group has a different personality and gels well together really pulling you into their story and search for the killer. The teenagers are a group that you really come to care about as the story progresses and you get to know them.

Well written, decent paced (even when it’s slow, it’s never boring) with a great story, characters, emotion and humour and the early 1990’s setting is just perfect for the book.

For fans of coming of ages stories, horror  (only slight elements are included in  the book) and thrillers this book is highly recommended.


Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

36 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: December Park by Ronald Malfi.

    1. It only has slight horror elements but it’s a great book.πŸ˜€

      Happy to participate, it’s a great idea for a meme, I’m not likely to participate each week though as most fantasy books are part of trilogies or series and as such I don’t read many standalone books.πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love stand alone books! However, I do love long a long series like GoT or Outlander or Harry Potter, even the Little House on the Prairie books. What I don’t like is trilogy books. For some reason they drive me crazy. I think it is because there isn’t usually enough material for three books and so it falls flat and drawn out. The longer series I like because there is so much world building and character development. As for stand alone books, I like them too because they are easy to recommend to friends. I can’t seem to think of a favorite right now though πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m a massive fan of trilogies, with fantasy being my favourite genre I guess I have to be as most fantasy that I read seems to be either trilogies or series. You do have a point about some trilogies though, can’t disagree with you there though I’d have to say that the same could be said for series to, I’ve read a few series where the author seems to be meandering and plodding along to keep the page count up and fill the series whereas it may have been better to have made the series one book less and more streamlined.

      Most of my favourite standalone books aren’t fantasy though!πŸ˜‚ The Hobbit and a trio of Joe Abercrombie books are the only standalones in that genre I’ve read…..that I can think of.πŸ˜‚

      Like

  2. Stand-alone novels are become so rare (rarer than pandas! πŸ˜€ ) that showcasing them is indeed a worthy endeavor, and this one sounds very intriguing: I’m seeing shades of Stephen King’s “IT”, and I’m not saying it in a derogatory way – I enjoyed that one, and this novel sounds a little less scary, which would be a good thing…
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I spotted this meme a couple of weeks ago and also fancy taking part – just every now and again (as let’s face it, must of our books are series!). I do have the occasional standalone though.
    This one sounds very intriguing – and seasonal too!
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh! Those are the kinds of books I love the most but don’t come across as often as I’d like. Probably not looking in the right places TBH. 2017 is the year that I go back to my Fiction & Fantasy that I’ve missed, still have plenty of YA lol but need those others.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

