Friday Face-Off · Various Things

Friday Face-Off 2nd December 2016.

facoffnewlogonov16bred

The Friday Face-Off is a new meme created by Books by Proxy, where the idea is to compare the UK and US covers of a book with each week  being a certain theme, this week’s theme is: “oranges and lemons say the bells of St. Clements” – a cover featuring fruit.

For the theme this week I have chosen: James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl.

Cover A:

fruitff1

Cover B:

fruitff2

Cover C:

fruitff3

Cover D:

fruitff4

Cover E:

fruitff5

Cover F:

fruitff6

Cover G:

fruitff7

Cover H:

fruitff8

Cover I:

fruitff9


winners

Cover A:

fruitff1

I like the overall simplicity of this cover, the plain white font and peach coloured background look really smart together and the small illustration adds that extra touch all making for a great cover.

Thoughts?? Agree?? Disagree??


 Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

39 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off 2nd December 2016.

  1. I love your choice of book – it is inspired:). My vote goes to the final cover in your selection, the peach floating on the sea crewed by all the creatures James befriends. This one nicely sums up the drama and sheer oddity of this surreal book, I feel. Have a great week-end, Drew:).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You blew me away with your choice this week – and I can’t believe I didn’t think of this one (simply because I fancied watching the film about a week ago but couldn’t find it – so it was fairly fresh in my mind!)
    Great choice. I love your choice but I’d probably go with D because it just says Roald Dahl to me.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. D does definitely say Roald Dahl, I thought it was a great choice of covers this week though, I had my favourite but all of them are really good and have merits to them, not like some weeks where there’s some atrocious looking covers for the same book.😂

      This was my first choice as soon as I saw the theme, it’s a childhood favourite.😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

