Standalone Sunday · Various Things

Standalone Sunday: The Green Mile by Stephen King.

sssundaysss

Standalone Sunday is a meme created by Megan at BookslayerReads. Where each Sunday you feature a book that is a standalone and not a part of a series that you really like and would recommend to others.

Remember to either link back to Megan’s post or leave her a link to yours in the comments section of her post so that she can add your post to the list.

I’m mainly a fantasy fan and as such, think that this is a great idea because lets face it, most fantasy books are part of a trilogy or series and it’s nice to occasionally read a standalone. Though my choice isn’t actually a fantasy book, surprisingly I do on occasion read other books to!🙂

My Choice:

ssgmile

The Green Mile by Stephen King. 

A truly moving book, poignant and emotional, this is King at his very best and if you don’t want to read the book then you can always watch the film with Tom Hanks in it, it’s a quality adaptation of the book and thoroughly enjoyable to. But of course the book goes into far more detail in certain areas and aspects than the film.

Some stunning characters in both Paul Edgecomb and John Coffey, these are two completely different but top quality characters that you really become invested in. In William “Wild Bill” Wharton and Percy Wetmore you also get a couple of vile and heinous characters that you really hate, wishing to see them both get their comeuppance. And, in Mr Jingles you get a mouse that you really care about, yes, I wrote a mouse – that may sound strange but read the book and find out how Master King makes you feel for a mouse! 🙂

The Green Mile is a compelling, heartfelt and emotional read, it’s unforgettable and highly recommended for anyone no matter their preferred genre who likes to read!

Quotes from The Green Mile:

“Time takes it all, whether you want it to or not.”

“Sometimes there is absolutely no difference at all between salvation and damnation.”

“On the day of my judgment, when I stand before God, and He asks me why did I kill one of his true miracles, what am I gonna say? That it was my job? My job?”

“I think that’s what people most always do with the stuff they can’t make out – just forget it.”

“Of course they had more chains on him than Scrooge saw on Marley’s ghost, but he could have kicked up dickens if he’d wanted. That’s a pun, son.”

“Atonement was powerful; it was the lock on the door you closed against the past.”


Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads.

61 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: The Green Mile by Stephen King.

  1. I have loved many of Stephen King’s books but I haven’t read this one. Someone just mentioned this title to me the other day and now your post so I know I need to add this to my TBR. Great Standalone pick!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore this book! It was one of the first ‘grown up’ books I ever read, way back when I was about 15. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it. Feeling somewhat inspired to go back and reread it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol at “grown up” book.😂 The book or film never interested me, the story never appealed and then finally about three years ago a work colleague lent me the film and I realised how stupid I’d been as it was a great film, had to buy the book afterwards and it was a stunning read, is now one of my favourites.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this book when I read it. Even though I was a little mad it wasn’t a typical Stephen King horror, I got over it quickly, since it was super emotional and amazing ugghhhhh reading about it again makes me want to read it all over again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been wanting to read this for ages! I only saw the film for the first time a few months ago and I can only imagine how much more emotional the book will be. Great Choice 🙂

    Like

  5. Gosh, this one sounds so creepy in the blurb but your praise for it makes me feel tempted to pick it up! Would you say it’s scary? You’ve got to love those books that drive a really good point home and boggle your mind. Such an interesting plot, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I watched the film recently (I didn’t know it was based on a book, woops) after a friend recommended to me as one of his favourite films and I was not disappointed. I was blown away by Tom Hanks’ acting and the plot in general, so I’m sure the book is even better! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Excellent choice this week! I’ve seen the movie, but haven’t gotten around to actually reading the book. Good to know the book is even better and goes into more depth. Have you read many Stephen King novels? Do you have any favorites aside from this one? I’m embarrassed to say I’ve only read 3, but I did get the chance to attend his book tour for End Of Watch and it was an amazing experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bet the book tour was great. I’ve only read a few King but not many, a lot of people love Salem’s Lot – it’s one of Jill’s (RantandRaveaboutBooks) favourite books. I also like The Shining and The Stand, The Stand is actually one of my favourite ever books. I also really enjoyed Under The Dome, it was a quality read until the last 50 pages which ruined it.😢

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

