Friday Face-Off · Various Things

Friday Face-Off 30th December 2016.

facoffnewlogonov16bred

The Friday Face-Off is a new meme created by Books by Proxy, where the idea is to compare the UK and US covers of a book with each week  being a certain theme, this week’s theme is: Drink – Ho ho ho! To the bottle I go…

I had an absolute nightmare with this theme and found it to be a right pain in the proverbial ass, suffice to say that I almost gave up on finding a cover! Now, I am sure that there will be those of you out there who can reel of a list and would say but this book and that book have a drink/glasses/bottle on the covers and I’m sure that there are millions and millions of books out there I couldn’t think of any, not a damn one – I know, woe is me! 😦

But then, I had a brain storm and it hit me, thinking “but Drew, you are a proper English gentleman, now surely you know another proper English gent that enjoys a tipple and I did, James Bond!” Luckily after searching Google for Bond cover books I came across one that actually had a drink in a glass on it and while I might very well be stretching the credulity of the theme this week, it is my choice! 🙂

lgppr45223the-names-bond-sean-connery-quote-art-print

For the theme this week I have chosen: For Your Eyes Only (James Bond Original Series #8) by Ian Fleming.

Cover A:

drink-5

Cover B:

drink2

Cover C:

drink3

Cover D:

drink4

Cover E (The one that fits the theme):

drink1

Cover F:

drink6

Cover G:

drink7

Cover H:

drink8

Cover I:

drink9

Cover J:

drink10

Cover K:

drink11

Cover L:

drink12

Cover M:

drink13

Cover N:

drink14


winners

qmark

I don’t have a clue!!!!! I don’t particularly like any of the covers and thus am abstaining from picking any!!!!! 🙂

Thoughts?? Agree?? Disagree?? Any opinion welcome!!


AND OF COURSE, AN EARLY HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL! 🙂


 Follow me on:

Twitter and Goodreads and Facebook.

45 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off 30th December 2016.

      1. Ick. Ick ick ick. They are sooo gross!
        All I see is hard muscly grossness. Veins and stuff. I think women do like that, but not me. But then again, I’m not into books with half-naked people on the cover….so maybe it’s me? I can’t read romance books! Like, I want to support Jill’s book, but I just can’t read those kinds of books! So I try to support her by recommending her book and spreading the word, you know?
        I prefer a teddy bear or a scrawny man to a rippled mass of grossness. All hard and uncomfortable. How do you cuddle with someone that is going to make you feel bad about your own body? I’m all kinds of squishy! And I love it, lol. (Jk, but I seriously don’t want anyone prettier than me! 😂🤣😂)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. They are pretty of the suck haha, I was flipping through them thinking which one of these can he possibly chose.. then I thought the graphic was broke (laughing so hard) until I read your comment.

    I guess I would say “E” reminds me the most of some of the classic films, but it is still a poopy cover 😉 but it has a naked woman.. so I am going with that. Yeah, E.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My choice is cover J – a typical London peasouper. It certainly summons up the feeling of the 1950s. You’re right – the rest are rather dreadful and that one isn’t wonderful, but it’s certainly the best of a bad job. I’m really, really sorry – this one turned out to be trickier than I’d originally thought – you’re right there were PLENTY of likely looking covers – but the catch was, there was only one edition and there one cover! Any ideas for next week??

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know, I found a few books and they only had one cover, nightmare!😂 I don’t know about next week, in twitter DM I think Lynn was going to see what’s happening with Proxy, etc, maybe take a break next week while we find out what’s going on??

      Like

  3. While I’m not swigning for the same sex, the covers with ladies made me grab for the bottle… to drink! Hoooh, kind of retro-hot… especially love that motorcycle covering a nipple.. had a good aul chuckle at that! 😀 genius!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

