200 Words or Less

200 Words or Less: Veiled Intentions (The Dragon’s Blade #2) by Michael R. Miller

20vi

While 200 Words or Less was originally created to focus on books that I had read before I started blogging. However this week I’ve decided to use a book that I have only just recently finished reading.

The book being Veiled Intentions (The Dragon’s Blade #2) by Michael R Miller who was kind enough to give me a copy in exchange for an honest review. I had previously read the first book The Reborn King not long after I started blogging and my review can be found here:

Veiled Intentions (The Dragon’s Blade #2).

32944833

  • Michael R Miller.
  • 449 pages.
  • Fantasy / Epic / Traditional / Fiction.
  • My Rating: 4.5 Stars out of 5.

Book Blurb:

Rectar has always had his sights set on conquering the human lands. His demonic invasion of the west is gaining momentum – an unrelenting horde unhindered by food or sleep. Now, only the undermanned Splintering Isles lie between the demons and the human kingdom of Brevia. If the islands fall, the rest of Tenalp will soon follow.

The Three Races must work together if they are to survive, but they have another problem – Castallan. The traitorous wizard has raised a deadly rebellion and declared himself King of Humans. He believes himself safe in the bowels of his impenetrable Bastion fortress, but Darnuir, now King of Dragons, intends to break those walls at all costs.

To face these threats, all dragons, humans and fairies must truly unite; yet old prejudices may undermine Darnuir’s efforts once again. And as the true intentions of all are revealed, so too is a secret that may change the entire world.


Veiled Intentions sees Miller thrusting us straight back in to his story, setting, world and characters with vigorous aplomb.

Veiled Intentions as a name fits perfectly, some obscure, others hidden and throughout the course of the book we get to see the veil being lifted. As we learn more about the characters, watching them grow, we get to see their true intentions unfolding, not everyone is who they seem and the difference between good and bad is often a murky line to tread.

It’s an action-packed read and I mean lots of action but with the action also comes the calm moments of rumination. The scope and scale is expanded with the introduction of both new characters and new settings, making the scale even grander and while Miller does use some standard fantasy models, he adds his own individual spin to them and also has plenty of his own unique ideas.

Veiled Intentions will delight fans of The Reborn King, making you remember everything you enjoyed about Miller’s work while simultaneously improving on each aspect.

For readers who haven’t read Miller’s writing, he writes ‘fast paced fantasy at it’s finest’ and is a fantasy author fully deserving of your attention. 


Purchase Veiled Intentions:

Amazon UK  /  Amzon US


 vibit


Follow me on:

TwitterGoodreads, Blog Facebook, Personal Facebook.

26 thoughts on “200 Words or Less: Veiled Intentions (The Dragon’s Blade #2) by Michael R. Miller

  1. Michael has been kind enough to offer me this as well after he gave me the audio book of the first book for review. Only 12 percent in but am enjoying it so far. It’s a strange thing to listen to one but read the sequel. I often find myself reading in the voices used by the narrator. Oddly, it makes it more enjoyable as they already have that distinct character created in my mind. I look forward to pushing on.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Not surprising really that you would read in the voices used by the narrator as it’s the same characters, chances are when reading we all use the voices that we think the characters sound like anyway, you just have the narrators voice. 🙂

      I really enjoyed the book, scheduled posts for this week and next and I’ve had bad headaches for the last few days and when I tried to write a longer more detailed review I couldn’t look at the computer screen for that long – no reading for the last few days either 😦 So decided to use this feature for it as I wanted to get the review out as Michael had been kind enough to send me a copy of the book, Hoping I didn’t do to shabbier a job! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 50 words smacks of laziness. To be honest, 200-300 is ideal as, we are reviewing a book, not writing one :p they also translate over to Amazon and goodreads better. Far less likely to read a long review on amazon than I am on a blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the Review! This book sounds really good, also reminds me of Cruel Intentions (not by the book’s contents butt the name lol). I’ll definitely add it to my reading list as I love a good book that challenges the reader to discover the true motives of it’s characters. Have a great Friday!

    -Luna 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 200 words but you really did nail it by focusing on the elements that matter! Really neat review, Drew… just shows you they don’t always have to be full-blown analysis 🙂

    Hope the headaches have now left you alone!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are on my list as Liz and I discussed them recently on FB! Super stoked to see this featured as I know what that means.. it is a go. I need to pick the series up haha. You are truly a reliable source. It doesn’t help that you can write a review of only 200 words and still have me completely sold. You are bad for my budget sir.. I just had to go get three more bookshelves this last week 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yeah, that’s always a plus for me too XD Not that I don’t enjoy larger books but smaller ones are a bit of a relief.
        Plus, some books just don’t need to go on for that many pages. I think some authors just don’t know where to cut back, and end up with a massive narrative full of irrelevant details. There are many examples where that’s just not possible, though.
        Basically, length doesn’t always equal quality, in either case.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is very true about length, I do enjoy my long books but when you constantly read them it’s nice to step back and read something shorter and while long books might drag, Miller does a great job of filling the 400 pages with plenty of everything.😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

