Teaser Tuesday · Various Things

Teaser Tuesday 14th March 2017: Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

ttues

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Ambrosia @ The Purple Booker.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read

• Open to a random page

• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Choice:

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence:

rsister

It’s not until you’re broken that you find your sharpest edge

A brilliant new series from the bestselling author of PRINCE OF THORNS.

“I was born for killing – the gods made me to ruin”

At the Convent of Sweet Mercy young girls are raised to be killers. In a few the old bloods show, gifting talents rarely seen since the tribes beached their ships on Abeth. Sweet Mercy hones its novices’ skills to deadly effect: it takes ten years to educate a Red Sister in the ways of blade and fist.

But even the mistresses of sword and shadow don’t truly understand what they have purchased when Nona Grey is brought to their halls as a bloodstained child of eight, falsely accused of murder: guilty of worse.

Stolen from the shadow of the noose, Nona is sought by powerful enemies, and for good reason. Despite the security and isolation of the convent her secret and violent past will find her out. Beneath a dying sun that shines upon a crumbling empire, Nona Grey must come to terms with her demons and learn to become a deadly assassin if she is to survive…



Teaser from Page 362:

“Shadow-work is deeper than what Sister Apple has yet shown you. Concealment is the least of such manipulation. A shadow-worker learns to call fear. Others may be able to bleed the darkness into you. Blindness is the easiest harm to inflict but a whole limb may turn traitor if infected with shadow.”

“You’re sure I can’t just kick her in the face before she starts?”

Teaser from page 438: 

“I have to-” But something dark and vast reached up to grab her and before Nona’s mouth closed on the last word she was gone.


I’m only around 30 pages into the book, my reading time has been diminished by a bad shoulder, if anyone asks I got it fighting marauding hordes of evil undead warriors accompanied by a legion of dragons! Lawrence is one of my favourite authors and I have high hopes for this book!

redsishaul2


Follow me on:

TwitterGoodreads, Blog Facebook, Personal Facebook.

23 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday 14th March 2017: Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

  1. Damn those evil marauders Drew , Hope you recover soon . I have this book on my Amazon wish list along with many others , hope to see a good review of it later on your blog

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t read Lawrence yet either , I’m still a novice in this genre , I do plan to complete Steven Erikson , Glenn Cook , Robin Hobbs and Brandon Sanderson this year , probably after that

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know , If i can finish half of them I’d call it a success , problem is my present read is dull and My life schedule is keeping me busy . Anyways Have fun and get well soon 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you get an ARC? My review will go up soon, in fact I even plan to re-read it, and I have no time to re-read anything! It’s THAT good.

        Like

  2. You need to give those hordes of evil undead warriors a break old man 😛 I hope you enjoy this as well as I did. I could have easily quoted 60% or more of this book! Such a solid and truly rewarding female protagonist. Loved it! Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the quotes – particularly the one about – “You’re sure I can’t just kick her in the face before she starts?” – that made me laugh out loud.
    Sorry about your shoulder – I think you got it from reading too many huge ass novels! Could be marauders though 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

