Poems/Lyrics

A Poem: Shed My Skin.

shed my skin

I’ve made it through,

To the end of another day,

I shed my skin,

One step at a time,

I question, Ask myself,

Will I ever truly be fine?

I hide behind a fake smile,

My happiness, My peace,

Both long dead,

Have been gone a while,

You think I’m doing OK,

It’s a facade, A lie,

Locked away,

Buried inside,

Hidden beneath the surface,

There’s a battle that rages,

A war deep within,

The struggle to carry on,

To stand, To fight,

These dark thoughts of mine,

Will I learn to let them go?

Do I live with the scars?

I don’t fucking know,

I shed my skin,

To erase the pain,

Pretend I’m getting by,

What you don’t see,

When I’m on my own,

When I’m all alone,

My tears, My blood,

They flow like a river,

They fall like rain.


Follow The Tattooed Book Geek on:

TwitterGoodreads, Blog Facebook, Personal Facebook.

31 thoughts on “A Poem: Shed My Skin.

  1. I understand your “Happiness is overrated’ comment now.
    On a serious note, though, what a heart-breakingly beautiful and honest piece. It’s incredible how many times people can makes comments such as “But you don’t LOOK depressed!” without having any idea of the inner turmoil you’re facing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I couldn’t really proclaim happiness is awesome in my comment to you when I’d posted this piece of misery!😂

      Yeah, that’s very true, sadly! Happens a lot to people ‘but you look happy’ sigh, doesn’t mean I’m not dying inside from pain and sorrow. People don’t realise that it’s easy to fake a smile and look happy, doesn’t mean that you are though, just that you’re good at hiding your real feelings.

      Eurgh, you used ‘beautiful’ in a comment on my blog, Eurgh!😂🤢😂🤢

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Does my use of the word ‘beautiful’ offend you? 😛 Okay, okay…it’s erm…exquisite?
        The faking the smile thing is something I do so much. Do you ever do this thing at work where you go to the bathroom and practise your ‘happy customer service’ face so people don’t see how miserable you feel?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nope, I walk around on the shop floor looking miserable and glaring.😂😂😂

        I’ve been told before that I don’t look approachable at times and so customers don’t ask me for stuff, etc and I’m like ‘and your point is’ I don’t want to be approached by customers, I’d rather they leave me the f#ck alone!😂 Don’t get me wrong, I’m polite to and help them when needed and they ask but I’m not going to walk around and be happy and smiling constantly, hell no! We’re also supposed to talk to all customers ‘good morning, etc’ and nope, ain’t happening, I’ll do crap like that when management do.😂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh god, we have to do the “Good morning” thing too! At 6am when I only finished work at 10pm the night before, the last thing I want to do is cheerily dish out bacon and eggs and smile and talk about what a beautiful morning it is!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ha, it is annoying, I’m not a happy talky person and would rather just get on and do my job, not to mention that some customers are c#nts anyway. But, management should lead by example and until they do it, I ain’t doing it, hell no! 🙂

        Like

  2. Wow! You gave a great start to my morning. One of my favorites by you. Superb. This isn’t the sleepy emotional me but a fan saying, Drew, you rock, man! You miserable dash, dash, dash.
    See, I told’ya my vocab is increasing. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

