Tags · Various Things

Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag

1tag

Greetings all! I was nominated by Stuart at Always Trust in Books for the Mid Year Freak Out Book tag and while I’m normally rather lapse at doing tags I thought I’d give this one a go! You can find a link to Stuart’s tag !!HERE!! if you want to check it out.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017:

Three books for me are tied for the best of the year so far! The other two will be used as answers to two other questions. So, I will go with Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames

Eames builds Kings of the Wyld up to a soaring crescendo with a breathtaking final track, culminating in one epic battle that cranks the volume all the way ‘up to eleven!’

Kings of the Wyld is an action movie with heart in the guise of a fantasy book and is an outstanding debut from Eames. Quality writing and pacing throughout, core characters you care about, crazy scenarios, action, action and more action with plenty of humour and a side helping of emotion all make Kings of the Wyld one hellacious and entertainingly wyld ride!

30841984

2. Best sequel of 2017 so far:

Hands down Tyrant’s Throne the epic conclusion to The Greatcoats series by Sebastien de Castell.

When we get to the end of the year, I fully expect to see Tyrant’s Throne gracing many fantasy best of the year book lists and with its conclusion, The Greatcoats deserves to take its place in the upper echelons of finished fantasy series.

There has been a lot of various Saint’s of Tristia mentioned throughout the entire Greatcoats series, but there hasn’t been a Saint of books?! Talk about craziness!

And so, I humbly give to you all, the Saint of amazing books, Saint Sebastian-who-weaves-magical-words.

30317594

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to:

Warlock Holmes – The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles by G.S Denning. I loved the first Warlock Holmes book last year and I’m really looking forward to getting around to this one sometime! 

51YQwbjIiLL._SX318_BO1,204,203,200_

4. Most anticipated release of the second half of 2017:

The Fall of Dragons by Miles Cameron releasing October 19th. It is the fifth and final installment in his The Traitor Son Cycle and I can’t wait to see how he concludes his epic series.

51xxjjje6WL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

5. Biggest disappointment of 2017:

The Truants by Lee Markham. I had high hopes for this gritty new take on Vampires but no, just no, not a book for me and I struggled to finish it due to a couple of issues.

51QQa9GGv9L._SY346_

6. Biggest surprise:

The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams. I had read many good things about her previous work with The Copper Cat trilogy and hoped that I would enjoy The Ninth Rain but I didn’t expect to love it so much.

Great pacing, top-notch writing, quality characterisation, plenty of action, fire – burn baby burn! Emotion, humour with a smidgen of romance added to the equation all make The Ninth Rain a truly enjoyable and absorbing read, come the final page you are left wanting more.

Fueled by winnowfire, The Ninth Rain is a flame that burns brightly as an exceptional start to a brand new fantasy trilogy.

29758013

7. Favourite new author (debut or new to you):

Debut author, both Nicholas Eames with Kings of the Wyld and Ed McDonald with Blackwing sit at the top closely followed by Anna Stephens with Godblind and Deborah A. Wolf with The Dragon’s Legacy.

But, I’m choosing Ed McDonald with Blackwing as my favourite new author.

51F+PIqawCL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

8. Newest fictional crush:

Tough one! Fantasy is usually full of demons, monsters and grizzled killers, not really any ideal material for a crush! However, I’ll go with Larkspur from Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames for a night of wink wink nudge nudge! 😉

larkspur

 9. Newest favourite character:

Nona from Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

Nona herself shows hints of Aria Stark, Mia Corvere and Wolverine in her actions and personality, with the stubborn tenacity, resourcefulness and gumption of those first two characters and the loyalty, fierceness and temper of the later. It’s like the three of them met, had an illicit sordid tryst of rampant debauchery and thus Nona was spawned, but she is also simultaneously so much more. From the first few pages you know that you are in for something special and that Nona herself is far more than just another young lead. As a protagonist Nona is flawed and complex, an engrossing and multi-layered main character to centre the character driven Red Sister around.

613pYgnV-iL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

10. Book that made you cry:

Tyrant’s Throne by Sebastien de Castell. Though ‘cry‘ is a term too far. more like made me emotional in places.

30317594

11. Book that made you happy:

Book?!?!?!? Hell No!!! We are going for all the books that I enjoyed this year have made me happy!!!

cute-cat-on-stack-of-old-books-animated-gif

12. Favourite book to movie adaptation of 2017 you’ve seen:

I can’t think of any that I have seen that have actually been released in 2017!!! The Green Mile is the best movie adaptation of a book that I have seen this year and I’m looking forward to the new film version of Murder on the Orient Express that is coming out in November.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year:

I’m going to cheat and go with two books! The Hatching and Skitter by Ezekiel Boone. For both of these reviews I was able to just have some fun, use various spider gifs, some spider rhymes that I made up and not be too serious.

14. Most beautiful book you bought or received this year:

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. Love this cover!

32605051

15. Books you need to read by the end of this year:

I’ll just pick three that I am eagerly awaiting.

  • Princess of Blood by Tom Lloyd.
  • The Court of Broken Knives by Anna Smith Spark.
  • Raid by K.S Merbeth.

So there you have it The Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag. I nominate (no pressure to do it folks)


Follow The Tattooed Book Geek on:

TwitterGoodreads, Blog Facebook, Personal Facebook, Bloglovin

46 thoughts on “Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag

  1. LOL at Larkspur… I hope you have fun with her in fantasy-land! 😀

    Blackwing! I was so happy I got approved for it on netgalley… another title with a crow/raven on cover and I hope it freaking delivers! Though, I have heard many good things about it already!

    Hey Jazz- if you’re reading my comment- maybe you should do a post with Top 10 romantic titles and their covers! I sure wouldn’t mind some eyecandy and just to give Drew some extra barf material? 😀

    Thanks for tagging me, mate! I hope I get to do the tag before the month is over… 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lol, not much that could be deemed as ‘crush’ worthy in fantasy land but I got the impression in the book that Larkspur was fit so…..😉 And it meant that I got my sarcasm in on the post too with the nudge nudge wink wink bit.😂

      True, lots of books seem to have crows/ravens on the cover, I do think Blackwing has an awesome cover though.

      That’s great that you got approved for it, congratulations.😀 I’ve finished it and loved it, top three book of the year for me so far with Kings of the Wyld and Tyrant’s Throne though I’m fairly sure I haven’t updated Goodreads from about 10% – I suck at Goodreads!😂

      Hey!!! Hell no, don’t give her ideas Lizzy! We don’t want a post of various Studley granite abs book covers, barf! She’d probably do something really mean and mention me in the post tarnishing my good blogger reputation!😂

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Top 10 Romantic Titles AND covers is the best idea I’ve ever heard 😀 😀 😀 😀 I have this weekend off and it’s gonna be well spent ;D Gonna trawl my shelves for all the deliciously abtastic covers I can find ❤ ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I had the chance to read Raid for review and I turned it down but now I am seriously kicking myself as I keep seeing it everywhere! 😐. Cheers for going through with the nomination 👍.

    I am intriguid to see your review of Blackwing, I am posting my review tomorrow but I don’t often write fantasy reviews as there is usually so much ground to cover. As you well know there is A LOT to talk about with Blackwing 😅.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Damn you just keep dangling Kings of the Wyld at me don’t you?! I need to visit Amazon! 😂

    Good answers and I’m super pleased to see Jen Williams in there! 👊

    I just received a copy of Blackwing it looks so good!

    Thanks for the tag! I will get to it eventually!🤘

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ‘sup yo! Cheers for tagging me 😀
    I knew something had been amiss this past year or so and you’ve finally made me realise what it is…I’ve been misspelling my blog name this whole time ;( Goddammit! On a side note, though, the way you so vehemently oppose ‘those’ books makes me kinda wonder if you maybe, kind of, secretly LIKE them!?!? ;P
    I agree with you on a couple of things here (the others only being because I haven’t read/got the book) ‘Kings of the Wyld’ was something of a surprise for me. I’d seen Danielle’s review and thought it sounded amazing, so bought it out of curiousity. Never for a second thought I’d love it as much as I did! Definitely got both of you to thank for introducing me to that book 🙂 It’s currently being passed about my friends! Definitely agree on Larkspur, though. I’d switch teams for her!
    Almost bought ‘The Hatching’ the other day because I saw it on offer in The Works and I have ‘Norse Mythology’ ready to take on holiday 😀 Bit of a hefty book for my suitcase, but I think it’ll be worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sup yo?! Kids and their language!😂

      Yeah, yeah, obviously I love me some covers with abs on!

      Larkspur is mine from that book. You can have Moog! I know he’s not that way inclined but it’s still companionship!😂

      That’s a sign of a good fantasy book when people who don’t read the genre really enjoy it!

      I enjoyed Norse Mythology, I can understand the reasons for the negative reviews I’ve seen but for me, Norse Mythology is something that I like and it was also my first Gaiman book and, great book.

      Not sure about it being big though! It’s under 300 pages! That’s small!

      The Hatching is great, in a stupid, dumb and thoroughly entertaining way.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “I love me some covers with abs on” At last, a confession in black and white for all to see! ;P
        Aww I adore Moog, I’d happily be his companion 😀 We’d have a blast!
        I actually just checked and you’re right. It IS under 300 pages! I think the fact that it’s a hardback edition makes it look pretty big haha

        Liked by 1 person

      2. A confession in black and white, oh, Jabz, that’s not very diverse! What about all the other colours too!😂

        Gee, thanks, you had to check the length of Norse Mythology, like my word wasn’t good enough, sigh, kids, no respect for their elders!😂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Fascinating answers to the questions, Drew:). I completely agree with your opinion of The Ninth Rain – it was a delight, wasn’t it? Here’s hoping that the second half of 2017 is every bit as good as the first half…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

