Book Reviews

Cold Feet: The Lost Years by Carmel Harrington Book Review

hell yeah Review

  • Cold feet: The Lost Years.
  • Carmel Harrington.
  • 352 pages.
  • TV Adaptation / Fiction.
  • My Rating: Hell Yeah Book Review.

51k1fpH+7hL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Book Blurb:

All the love. All the drama. All you missed.

HILARIOUS AND HEARTBREAKING OFFICIAL NOVEL FROM THE HIT TV SERIES.

Reeling from the sudden death of Rachel, his beloved wife, Adam has no time to grieve. He has to keep going, for the sake of their baby son.

Jenny moves back in with ex-husband Pete, eight and a half months pregnant with another man’s child. Can their relationship overcome past jealousies?

Karen and David agree to an amicable divorce – but that’s before he sleeps with the divorce lawyer . . .

THE LOST YEARS reveals what happened to your favourite characters between series five and six of the award-winning TV series written by Mike Bullen. It’s an irresistible chance to catch up on all the laughter, the tears, the life lessons we missed while they were gone.


Book Review:

I received a free copy of this book courtesy of the publisher through bookbridgr in exchange for an honest review.


Cold Feet was a TV show on ITV (UK) that ran for five series between 1997 and 2003. It was recommissioned and returned for series six in 2016 thirteen years after the original run of the show ended. Series seven will air from Monday 11th September 2017.

Now, I realise that this is a rather strange book review for you to be reading a review of on my blog and that in reading Cold Feet: The Lost Years any credulity that I had accrued as the foul-mouthed and sarcastic ‘bad boy‘ of book blogging has well and truly gone out the window! But, who cares! I had a fantastic time reading the book and that’s all that matters!πŸ˜€

The Lost Years takes place a few months after the tragic and heartbreaking death of Rachel that occurred at the end of series five. And acts as a buffer helping to bridge the gap between series five and six.

Adam has lost his wife and friend and is now left alone as a single parent with baby Matthew. And everyone else (Pete, Jenny, David and Karen) have lost one of their best friends. Her death has left a hole in their hearts and along with their own problems they are all still trying to come to terms with her death, get by and move forward with their own problematic and chaotic lives.

Whilst reading The Lost Years it really felt like it could have been the next series of Cold Feet in its original run. The characters are spot on to their TV counterparts and you find yourself lost in the lives of Pete, Jenny, David, Karen and Adam. I’m old enough (please feel free to make old man comments in the comments section it’s fine) to have watched the original run of the show. The Lost Years effortlessly transported me back in time as Harrington brings the characters to life on the pages. They are for all intents and purposes the exact same characters that you came to love in the show. You lose yourself in their everyday lives as you are transported down memory lane back to the early 90’s (or if you’ve watched the reruns then whenever you watched them).

Adam (James Nesbitt in the TV show) was always my favourite character in the show, Irish and always up for the craic (a good time) and he is in the book too. He’s grieving the loss of Rachel but trying to get by and keep strong for baby Matthew. Out of the core group of characters, it is Adam (well, it was for me) that takes you through a wide variety of emotions with him. But, you will feel for them all at some point during your reading of the book, you will get hit in the feels! Even David and I always found David to be a toff and a bit of an arse! Yes, I’m being polite in this review as usually, I’d use a far worse term than arse!πŸ˜‚

You can tell that Harrington is a fan of the show. Both that fan in her and her knowledge of the source material is clear to see on the pages recreating what made the original TV show so popular in book form. The Lost Years also makes it startling obvious to anyone out there, that if you are going to commission an adaptation of a TV show, video game or movie then get someone who knows and loves the source material to do it!

One of the things I remember about the Cold Feet show is that at its core, it was a show about the characters, the flawed yet likeable group of characters. The ups and downs of their lives and their friendship with each other. The Lost Years manages to keep that exact same tone. It’s a book about their lives but it’s also a book about their friendship too and you really get the feeling that they would do anything for each other, mates to the end.

I’m not the fastest reader (I’m more like a sedate meandering older dude reader than a fit young sprinter speed reader) and I read The Lost Years in under a 48hr span – that’s quick for me!

The writing and pacing are both spot on in The Lost Years as the pages and chapters (you will smile at some of the chapter names) fly by in a mix of humour, emotion and some poignant moments too. Even if it’s only something trivial and minor there is always something happening and Harrington knows how to tell a story. You find yourself turning the pages and wanting to continue reading as you are that engrossed in the dysfunctional lives of Pete, Jenny, David, Karen and Adam.

If you are a fan of Cold Feet then simply put, buy The Lost Years. If you know anyone who is a fan of the show then simply put, tell them to buy the book and if they won’t either drag them to the bookshop and make them buy it or buy it for them.

The Lost Years is a fantastic adaptation that keeps the essence of everything that made Cold Feet, Cold Feet and for fans of the show, it is a must-read.


Purchase Cold Feet: The Lost Years

Amazon UK Β / Β Amazon US Β / Β Book Depository


Follow The Tattooed Book Geek on:

Twitter,Β Goodreads,Β Blog Facebook,Β Personal Facebook.

 

36 thoughts on “Cold Feet: The Lost Years by Carmel Harrington Book Review

    1. Abilities with blogging??? I unfortunately don’t have any blogging abilities!πŸ˜‚ Though I was on my best behavior in the review with no swearing!😜

      Fan of the show so I wanted to give the book a ago and ended up loving it.

      No sarcasm intended, it was really nice to read a completely different sort of book! I’ve been a bit jaded with fantasy recently and reading different genres makes for a nice change and break.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve heard of the series, but being the young sproglet that I am, I was too young to watch the original run πŸ˜› I’m glad you enjoyed this book, though! Usually it’s a book to TV adaptation so it’s interesting to see the reverse working so well, and awesome that the writer got the characterization so spot on! I do always wonder what happens to characters after a show has ended or is between series, so this book seems like the ideal filler to keep fans going!
    And exactly! Who cares if you’re reading something that’s different to usual preferred reading. Sometimes it makes for a refreshing change to read something completely different πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I’ve been a bit jaded with fantasy recently and so reading different stuff has been cool. Taking a step back and reading different genres, being diverse!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Ha, lil baby Sproglet would have been a teeny tiny baby when the show was first on. Even more of a teeny tiny baby than she is now!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      That’s very true about it usually being a book to TV adaption though there are quite a few TV/game to book adaptions out there. It was good that they got a real fan of the show to write the book. I think that’s why it worked so well. I’ve read a few articles where the TV show/game is being turned into a book and ‘so and so’ is going to write it but first they need to catch up on and watch/play the source material!πŸ˜‚ it’s like, no thanks, get a fan to write it then it’ll work out better.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So, have you enjoyed reading more diversely? Because if so…well, I have some books for you ;P I know you’ll say no, but I’m gonna keep on trying!
        Yup, a teeny tiny baby indeed! Perhaps I should try and catch some of the episodes…see what life was like back for you old folk in those days! πŸ˜›
        I’ve read articles like that! Or when actors are drafted in to play a book much-loved character…but they haven’t read the book and sometimes refuse to because they want to ‘interpret’ the character their way! It’s really bugging me because I read about someone doing that not so long ago and I can’t for the life of me think who it was! It was a guy, I know that! Gah, I don’t know. Probably gonna message you at like 3am now when I finally remember! Anyway, my point was that it’s stupid when they don’t get fans to do these things!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yes, actors/actresses are a pain to for that! I’ve read that a few times where they don’t know the source material and character they are to play and want to interpret them in their own way. Which is fine for films not based on books or games. It’s OK for historical figures to as we don’t really know what they were like but an author, etc has created a character, their personality, etc and fans have come to love that character. That’s the character we want in the film, maybe we can deal with a slight spin or if the actor is a fan and always envisaged the character being like/doing this or that. But God no, not new interpretation that is nothing like the original.

        Yes, I’m enjoying reading diversely and I’ll still decline that offer!πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Exactly! If the actors are gonna change the character so vastly, the directors may as well just scrap the script and write something completely original where there’s room for so-called ‘interpretation’!
        Damn…I won’t give up, y’know! You WILL read one ‘those’ books!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m gonna send one to you and it’s gonna be disguised in some epic fantasy cover and you won’t even realize until some shirtless vampire lord appears! I’ve got it all planned!!!!

        Like

  2. This was a series I never got fully into, but my sister LOVED. I think I’ll get this book for her upcoming birthday:) Thank you for a great review, Drew – and I’m definitely going to be watching the new series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Never heard of the show of course, but reading your review I kind of got the feel what the show must have been like… glad you enjoyed the book and mega that you’re proud to admit it, too.. no shame in loving good books, no matter what genre they’re in. Also, massive kudos for using ‘craic’ in the review… It must have been one of the first Irishisms I learned when I moved here πŸ˜€ and also how they count time here because dammit, I missed quite a few busses at first πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Liz and damn right, no shame at all!πŸ˜€ I often joke around about the types of books people read but that’s all it is, joking and having a laugh. Everyone should read and enjoy what they want like I did with this. Completely different to my normal genre but damn good.πŸ‘Œ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

