Various Things · Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: Strange Weather by Joe Hill

wow

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. Each Wednesday you get to highlight a book that you are really looking forward to. This week I’ve chosen:

 Strange Weather by Joe Hill

51eRmg5MQRL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Four short novels from the author of THE FIREMAN and HORNS, ranging from creepy horror to powerful explorations of our modern society.

One autumnal day in Boulder, Colorado, the clouds open up in a downpour of nails, splinters of bright crystal that tear apart anyone who isn’t safely under cover. ‘Rain’ explores this escalating apocalyptic event, as clouds of nails spread out across the country and the world. Amidst the chaos, a girl studying law enforcement takes it upon herself to resolve a series of almost trivial mysteries . . . apparently harmless puzzles that turn out to have lethal answers.

In ‘Loaded’ a mall security guard heroically stops a mass shooting and becomes a hero to the modern gun movement. Under the hot glare of the spotlights, though, his story begins to unravel, taking his sanity with it…

‘Snapshot, 1988’ tells the story of an kid in Silicon Valley who finds himself threatened by The Phoenician, a tattooed thug who possesses a Polaroid that can steal memories…

And in ‘Aloft’ a young man takes to the skies to experience parachuting for the first time . . . and winds up a castaway on an impossibly solid cloud, a Prospero’s island of roiling vapour that seems animated by a mind of its own.


The expected publication date is October 24th (US) and November 7th (UK).


UK Cover (left) and US Cover (right)

Follow The Tattooed Book Geek on:

TwitterGoodreadsBlog FacebookPersonal Facebook.

 

16 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Strange Weather by Joe Hill

  1. My two attempts at reading Joe Hill did not end well: IMHO he starts well and then can’t keep my interest and attention focused – not his fault, I guess, but mine. So I might try these shorter works to see if I’m more comfortable with a shorter format.
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was initially interested in the Fireman when all the hype was ongoing around it and then I started seeing the very varying reviews… With the mahoosive TBR pile, I don’t think he’s gonna make the list for me, but if you plan to read this one then still interested in your thoughts on it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read The Fireman but yeah, there was so much hype around it and for me, it failed to live upto that hype. Possibly because I love The Stand and when people were saying that it was better than that I expected too much but it was definitely a case where the hype ruined a book. Still decent just not the ‘wow, best post-apocalyptic book ever’ that it was made out to be.

      Like

    1. The Fireman is the only other book of his I’ve read and I thought he was a good writer but the book itself was a let down. There was so much hype for it and unfortunately the hype ruined the book. I’m eager to try more from Hill though and this looks good. N0S4R2 looks great also but it’s rather long otherwise I might give that a go.

      Like

      1. Have you read any other of Joe Hill’s books, or just The Fireman?

        Ugh. Don’t remind me about Under the Dome. I created my own ending in my head lol I really enjoyed his crime fiction series, Mr. Mercedes… I haven’t attempted any of his horror books because I’m a huge wuss 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

