Author · Guest Post

Guest Post: 15 Grammar Rules It’s Okay to Break by The Expert Editor. #BookBlogger #BookBloggers #Blogger #Bloggers

grammarrule

Today on The Tattooed Book Geek I am pleased to be bringing to you all something a little different. I was recently contacted by Isabel Cabrera from The Expert Editor about sharing an infographic titled “15 Grammar Rules It’s Okay to Break“. Now, as someone whose own grammar is less than stellar, I jumped at the opportunity to share this fascinating infographic with you all. 

Firstly, though, here is a brief introduction by Isabel Cabrera to introduce the graphic:

If there is one thing you can always count on humanity to do, it’s enacting change. Cultures, religions, beliefs – every part of human existence and the ways we understand and operate in the world change. Sometimes these changes are quick and immediate, but mostly they take generations and centuries to notably evolve.

And perhaps one of the most important ways we change almost imperceptibly is in our language. Every year, decade, and generation slightly nudge language a certain direction. New words, new phrases, new ways of saying things and new rejections of older methods.

These changes find themselves incrementally incorporated into everyday speech. If it weren’t for our written records, we probably wouldn’t realize the immensity of these changes at all!

And because of these changes, all those rules your grumpy old English teacher quizzed you over aren’t as vital as they made them seem. Don’t get us wrong: rules are important, and knowing why rules exist is critical towards having a complete grasp of the English language. But only until you know the rules can you make the best decision to break them.

As they say, “rules were made to be broken”. And when it comes to grammar rules, there’s never a better time to break the rules than right after you learn them.

Here are a few old classic grammar rules and exactly why you don’t need to remember them anymore:

15 Grammar Rules It’s Okay to Break.

15-Grammar-Rules-It’s-Okay-to-Break-infographic


About The Expert Editor.

The Expert Editor is an Australian professional editing and proofreading company offering a range of services for academic, book and business writers.

The Expert Editor is designed to combine quality editing and proofreading with affordability. We employ professional editors and have an exclusively online operation that is efficient and flexible. You can read more about the two key features of our business that make us a great value proposition.

Genesis of the company

The Expert Editor was founded in 2012 by Brendan Brown. A former writer, he used professional editing services and became convinced there was a better way to operate one. We are a fast-growing business, even gathering media coverage in the BRW magazine along the way.

The Expert Editor also has a sister site, Global English Editing, which helps US and international writers achieve their goals.

23 thoughts on “Guest Post: 15 Grammar Rules It’s Okay to Break by The Expert Editor. #BookBlogger #BookBloggers #Blogger #Bloggers

  1. I admit I hate it when writers mess up who and whom. When in doubt use who!! You sound like an idiot using whom when it’s wrong. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to look up into vs in to with my current work. When reading, I can immediately spot when it’s wrong. In my own writing? Not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes but if no one makes up words, how will we find the next Shakespeare? Or Snoop Dogg? Or Lewis Carroll?

    Are you telling me I’m not as awesome as them?

    Just kidding. Kind of. Also, I still get tripped up by who/whom, affect/effect, and So many others.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I also break the double negative one sometimes but for different reasons. I feel like saying “he didn’t not like it,” is different from saying “he liked it.” Like they feel meh about it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow … this is actually really interesting! I’m not gonna lie though … I tend to write as I would talk in my comments (as you can see …) and sometimes in my reviews. I try to make sure punctuation is accurate, but even then I tend to not overthink it. I should probably keep this handy though … it seems like something I should have with me when I write reviews ha-ha!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it makes it more personal. Not sure that’s the right word but writing as you talk means it’s you. Only in the written form instead of the vocal and that’s more interesting than say, just writing with no personality or anything – if that makes sense.😂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I actually really enjoyed looking at this infographic! I have noticed that many authors have started to break some of these traditional grammar rules that were drilled into us as children in school. It’s nice to see that we are starting to loosen up a bit with all the writing rules.

    I’d also like to admit that I frequently begin a sentence with the conjunction ‘And’… I feel no shame 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. THIS! I truly enjoyed this infographic. Might as well print this out and send it to teachers ( and I´m so tempted right now ). Also, fab for bloggers who´re unsure of their writing ( should they feel insecure about it ).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Naaaw. Don´t be. You have no reason to feel insecure about your writing. I think your writing is great 🙂 You just can´t forget that everyone in this business is practically winging it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.