Can't-Wait Wednesday · Various Things

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Brother Red by Adrian Selby.

cantwaitwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings based on Waiting on Wednesday that was created and run by Breaking the Spine where each Wednesday you get to showcase a book that you are really looking forward to and that has yet to be released. 

This week I’ve chosen:

Brother Red by Adrian Selby.

Brother-Red-Adrian-Selby-scaled

When the trade caravan Driwna Marghoster was hired to protect is attacked, she discovers a dead body hidden inside a barrel. Born of the powerful but elusive Oskoro people, the body is a rare and priceless find, the centre of a tragic tale and the key to a larger mystery…

For when Driwna investigates who the body was meant for, she will find a trail of deceit and corruption which could bring down a kingdom, and an evil more powerful than she can imagine.

A gritty and epic standalone fantasy adventure, to appeal to fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski’s The Witcher and Joe Abercrombie. From Adrian Selby, author of Snakewood and The Winter Road.


I have to admit that while I enjoyed Selby’s debut Snakewood and it had some decent ideas, I also had a few issues with the book and found the start a slog to get through. Snakewood also has the rather dubious honour of being one of the first books that I reviewed when I started my little blog back in 2016. Yes, as you would expect the review is terrible, I wish that I could say that I have improved, but I am an honest blogger, that would be a lie and I haven’t! 😉 I absolutely loved his next book The Winter Road which, released late in 2018 found its way into my best books of the year list for that year. Brother Red which is released by Orbit on January 28th, 2021 sounds awesome and the cover (which is designed by Lauren Panepinto and illustrated by Jaime Jones) is absolutely stunning, it is definitely one to watch out for and a book to look forward to for early next year. 🙂


About Adrian Selby.

Adrian studied creative writing at university before embarking on a career in video game production. He worked for several big-name studios as a producer, before settling down to more conventional work in IT project management. He is a Tolkien fanatic, and online gaming addict, and lives with his wife and family on the south coast of England.


Follow The Tattooed Book Geek:

TwitterGoodreadsBlog FacebookPersonal Facebook

7 thoughts on “Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Brother Red by Adrian Selby.

  1. I agree that that cover is a beauty! I have both Snakewood and The Winter Road. Haven’t gotten around to reading them yet I’m afraid. Hopefully I can in 2021! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.