Book Haul · Various Things

My Latest Book Haul. #BookBloggers #BookBlogger #Books #Blogger #Bloggers

book haul

These are the latest books that I have received.

As always, my thanks to the publishers and publicists for the books. I am always grateful for each and every book I receive and always slightly baffled too that people choose to send me books!

Books received for review consideration:

Winter’s Orbit by Everina Maxwell.

Published by Orbit Books on February 4th, 2021.

The Iskat Empire rules its vassal planets through a system of treaties – so when Prince Taam, key figure in a political alliance, is killed, a replacement must be found. His widower, Jainan, is rushed into an arranged marriage with the disreputable aristocrat Kiem, in a bid to keep rising hostilities between two worlds under control. But Prince Taam’s death may not have been an accident, and when Jainan himself is a suspect, he and Kiem must navigate the perils of the Iskat court, solve a murder, and prevent an interplanetary war . . .


The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward.

Published by Viper Books on March 18th, 2021.

This is the story of a serial killer. A stolen child. Revenge. Death.
And an ordinary house at the end of an ordinary street.

All these things are true. And yet they are all lies…

You think you know what’s inside the last house on Needless Street. You think you’ve read this story before. That’s where you’re wrong.

In the dark forest at the end of Needless Street, lies something buried. But it’s not what you think…


Brother Red by Adrian Selby.

Published by Orbit Books on January 28th, 2021.

When the trade caravan Driwna Marghoster was hired to protect is attacked, she discovers a dead body hidden inside a barrel. Born of the powerful but elusive Oskoro people, the body is a rare and priceless find, the centre of a tragic tale and the key to a larger mystery…

For when Driwna investigates who the body was meant for, she will find a trail of deceit and corruption which could bring down a kingdom, and an evil more powerful than she can imagine.

A gritty and epic standalone fantasy adventure, to appeal to fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski’s The Witcher and Joe Abercrombie. From Adrian Selby, author of Snakewood and The Winter Road.


Twitter win:

The Art of Death by David Fennell.

Published by Zaffre on February 4th, 2021.

London’s latest art installation is a real killer . . .

An underground artist leaves three glass cabinets in Trafalgar Square that contain a gruesome installation: the corpses of three homeless men.

With the artist promising more to follow, newly-promoted Detective Inspector Grace Archer and her caustic DS, Harry Quinn, must race against time to follow what few clues have been left by a savvy killer.

As more bodies are exhibited at London landmarks and live streamed on social media, Archer and Quinn’s pursuit of the elusive killer becomes a desperate search.

But when Archer discovers that the killer might be closer than she originally thought – she realises that he has his sights set firmly on her . . .

He is creating a masterpiece. And she will be the star of his show.


Kindle freebie:

Shadows of Ivory (The Godforged Chronicles #1) by T.L. Greylock and Bryce O’Connor.

Published by Wraithmarked Creative, LLC and released on August 4th, 2020.

An undying king. A relic of rune-carved bronze and ivory flames. A war for powers only a god could fathom.

In the centuries since rising up against a cruel, twisted dynasty, the Seven Cities have done much to move past their horrid histories, the memories of ancient monarchs who once fed on the life and blood of their own people. Those with a talent for magic are no longer hounded and slain. The lands beyond the Cities are safe, spared the atrocities the Alescuans once wrought upon them. For 300 years, there has been peace.

Then Eska de Caraval, head of the prestigious Firenzia Company, finds herself framed for murder.

Soon hunted for the strange bronze disc she most certainly did not steal, Eska is forced to pit both wit and blade against all manner of adversaries who would eagerly see her dead. An assassin in the shadows. A monster in the deep. A rival looking to burn her alive. From sword and fang and flame Eska must defend herself, struggling all the while to prove her innocence and unravel the mysteries of a dangerous artifact.

But unbeknownst to Eska and her enemies, the cruelest of those tyrants of old is stirring in his grave.


Follow The Tattooed Book Geek:

TwitterGoodreadsBlog FacebookPersonal Facebook.

4 thoughts on “My Latest Book Haul. #BookBloggers #BookBlogger #Books #Blogger #Bloggers

  1. Quite a good catch, congratulations! 🙂
    I’m looking with keen interest at The Art of Death, since it sounds like a very engaging thriller, and at Brother Red – if nothing else because a standalone fantasy has become quite a rarity these days… 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.