Music Monday

Music Monday: Darkness Within by Machine Head

MusicMonday

Welcome once again to Music Monday where I offer you all a song that I really like. If anyone wants to join in then please feel free to have a go! πŸ™‚

Machine Head: Darkness Within.

Here in the darkness that I lay
Depression heavy in its weigh
And how my body aches to leave
To sing its final eulogy
My sons I love you evermore
And though the road beckons once more
I see the damage that I’ve done
In search for redemption
But I am just a broken man
Whose souls cries out to understand
How the madness shatters me
Upon the stage on bended knee
I scream out loud at skies above
That answer mute bereft in love
I struggle not to fall from grace
Or sing the hymns of my disgrace

We Build Cathedrals to our pain
Establish monuments to attain
Freedom from all of the scars and the sins
Lest we drown in the darkness within

Mysteries forgotten chords
I strum in vain to please the lord
But he has never answered me
My faith has waned eternally
In empty men who pass along
The woes of all religions wrong
But now the Shadowed veil it falls
Heed the Clarion call
So pray to music build a shrine
Listen in these desperate times
Fill your heart with every note
Cherish it and cast afloat
Because god is in these clef and tone
Salvation is found alone
Haunted by its melody
Music it will set you free
Let it set you free

We Build Cathedrals to our pain
Establish monuments to attain
Freedom from all of the scars and the sins
Lest we drown in the darkness within

Music my saviour (Save me)

We Build Cathedrals to our pain
Establish monuments to attain
Freedom from all of the scars and the sins
Lest we drown in the darkness within


Taken from the album: Unto The Locust (2011).

locust

Follow The Tattooed Book Geek:

Twitter,Β Goodreads, Blog Facebook, Personal Facebook.

21 thoughts on “Music Monday: Darkness Within by Machine Head

  1. Absolutely fantastic choice! That song is just perfection, actually, that whole album is fucking incredible. And you’ve reminded me I need to buy a ticket for their tour next year!

    Like

  2. Great choice in song, I never got any further from Motorhead appart from the song they covered by the Police… I am discovering so many awsome tbl’s (to be listened to’s) along the way. Thanx man.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice one Drew… This is why pop music has nothing on rock/metal- just look at those fabulous and rich lyrics! Proper!
    Great video as well… Prague is such a mystical city I have yet to visit but it seems so fitting!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Machine Head really is a band that has stood the test of time. I was lucky enough to see them live on their first ever UK tour with Slayer in Manchester back when I lived there. They were great. Rob and drummer Chris (no longer with them) came out to chat after the gig and we got photos, tickets signed then a look around their tour bus! Kerry King from Slayer came on and said hello too! Great night.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

